CSIR-IIIM launches Aroma Mission Phase-II

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 9: CSIR-Indian Institute of Integrative Medicine (IIIM), Jammu has launched CSIR-Aroma Mission Phase-II, here today.
In this connection, a day-long scientists-farmers interaction programme was organized in the auditorium of IIIM, Jammu which was attended in person by a large number of farmers from all over J&K and virtually by farmers from Punjab, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Assam, Uttarakhand, and Madhya Pradesh.
Dr J P Sharma, Vice Chancellor, SKAUST, Jammu was the chief guest on the occasion and Prof Sudhir Sopori (Ex-Vice Chancellor, JNU), Dr D Srinivasa Reddy (Director, CSIR-IIIM, Jammu), Dr Prabodh K Tripathi (Director, CSIR-CIMAP, Lucknow) and Ramakant Harlalka (M D, Nishant Aroma, Mumbai) were the other dignitaries.
On the occasion, besides technical session, a documentary on CSIR-Aroma Mission was released and scientists-farmers interaction was also held.
Dr J P Sharma, while addressing the farmers, emphasizing on the need of processing and value addition of the agricultural produce to prevent the post harvest loss, Dr Sharma made the farmers aware about the sector wise schemes the Government of India has launched for the prosperity of farmers.
Earlier, Dr D Srinivasa Reddy in his address said that Aroma Mission is one of its kind of project where an end-to-end technology on cultivation, processing, and marketing of high-value aromatic crops was provided to the farmers and other stakeholders.
Dr Dhiraj Vyas, Principal Scientist and Head Plant Sciences, while presenting welcome address, gave brief introduction of the program while Dr Sumeet Gairola, Nodal Scientist Aroma Mission, informed that in the second Phase of Aroma Mission CSIR-IIIM, Jammu aims to further expand the area to around 9,000 hectares in the next three years.
Dr D M Mondhe, Senior Principal Scientist & Head Cancer Pharmacology, Abdul Rahim, Senior Principal Scientist and Head PME Division, Dr G D Singh, Senior Principal Scientist and Head PK-PD Toxicology Division and Dr Zabeer Ahmed, Senior Principal Scientist and Head Inflammation Pharmacology & ES divisions were also present.
The programme concluded with vote of thanks presented by Rajneesh Anand (Chief Scientist).