Cong lost Vijaypur 4 times, need to strengthen: Arun

Cong leader Arun Sharma addressing party workers' meeting in Vijaypur.
Cong leader Arun Sharma addressing party workers' meeting in Vijaypur.

Excelsior Correspondent
SAMBA, Mar 10: Senior Congress leader from Vijaypur, Arun Sharma has said that Congress has lost Vijaypur Assembly seat for the last four consecutive terms and there is need to strengthen the party at grass- root level in the constituency.
Addressing meeting of the party workers at Gurha Morh in Vijaypur today, Arun stressed for strengthening Congress Party in Samba district’s both the segments, which the party lost during 1996, 2002, 2008 and 2014 Assembly elections.
Sharma exhorted upon the party workers to work hard to strengthen the party at booth, ward and block level without any self -interest. He said organisation is supreme and one should not go for rank and file. Contributions of all the members was important and the party high command was closely monitoring all the things. Whosoever is given mandate by the party high command, it is duty of every party worker and leader to support him during party campaign.
The meeting was attended by large numbers of Congress party workers and locals who put forth their local issues.
On this occasion, several youth joined Congress. They were welcomed in the party fold by Arun Sharma. Sharma announced 13- member Zone committees for each region – Kandi, Central and border. Dinesh Singh would head Kandi Zone, Gulshan Lal -Central while Onkar Singh- Border Zone.
Prominent among those who attended the meeting included- BS Slathia, Capt Baldev Raj, Capt Atter Chand, Capt Thoru Ram, Sub Daleep Singh, Gulshan Lal, Ajay Puri, Dinesh Sambyal, Sobha Ram, OmParkash, Mansa Ram Bhagat, Rehmet Ali, Salim, Nazeer Ahmed and Rani Devi.