Cong activists stage silent protest over detention of political leaders

Congress leaders and activists staging silent protest at Paloura in Jammu on Saturday.
Congress leaders and activists staging silent protest at Paloura in Jammu on Saturday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Aug 17: District Congress Committee (DCC) Jammu Rural, on Saturday staged silent protest against the detention of mainstream political leaders of Jammu and terming it as an unfortunate and undemocratic act of BJP Government.
Led by Hari Singh Chib, president DCC Jammu- Rural, the party workers assembled at Ward No 60, Ploura in Jammu and expressed resentment against the working of BJP Government.
Chib strongly criticized the house-arrest of JKPCC president Gulam Ahmed Mir, Raman Bhalla, Ravinder Sharma and others. He also questioned the detention of Uday Bhanu Chib, president Youth Congress J&K and Choudhary Shah Nawaj general secretary PCC three days back in Jammu without any justified cause.
He questioned the Government for the illegal and unwarranted detention of mainstream leaders, especially in Jammu without any legal and political justification. He said it is totally vindictive discriminatory attitude of the Government on political considerations.
“It is an undeclared emergency imposed in J&K without any justification,” Chib said, adding that the Government on one hand is claiming total normalcy in the State, but on the other hand detentions are taking place even in Jammu.
Uday Chib (PYC chief), termed the detention of Congress leaders as the violation of the right to freedom of speech and expression guaranteed by the Constitution. “This is total dictatorship and encroachment on our right to put forth our point of view in a democratic manner,” Chib said.
Rajni Bala, Corporator Ward No 60 said that the present situation is like an undeclared emergency imposed in the State without any justification. She accused the present dispensation of highly biased and differential approach in curtailing the freedoms of opposition leaders.
Among others present on the occasion include Som Nath Sharma former Block Congress president Bhalwal, Dev Raj, Tarun Vaid, Shahbaaz Ahmad, Chander Mohan Sharma, Surinder Singh, Anil Sharma, Ajmer Singh, Parshotam Kumar, Virender Mehta, Sunil Kumar, Kamal Singh, Bittu Chib, Sansar Singh Chib, Harbans Lal, Om Parkash, Gulshan, Ritesh, Sunny Jat, Yudhvir Singh, Gautam Singh and others.