Clerical cadre employees observe strike, hold protest

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, May 1:   The Jammu Kashmir Ladakh All Department Clerical Staff Coordination Committee (Jammu province) observed complete strike on the 9th consecutive day today and held strong protest demonstration at Sadar Treasury, Town Hall here.
A large number of employees of all the factions, under the  banner of `Coordination Committee’ assembled Saddar Treasury Jammu and held strong protest demonstration. Many JMC employees also joined the protest dharna. They were shouting slogans in support of their demands. They also raised slogans against the Government for ignoring their issues despite recommendations of the Cabinet Sub Committee  and High Court directives. The protesting workers demanded that pay anomalies of the clerical cadre be removed without any delay. They also rejected the 7th Pay Commission and said that Government has back tracked  and not fulfilled its commitment.
The protest  demonstration was also held at various district headquarters and district treasures across the region.  With the strike of the clerical cadre the normal work in many Government offices and  PSUs has been affected. Even the employees did not allow the Treasury employees to function in view of strike and the bills worth crores could not be cleared.
The cadre leadership  has appealed the clerical colleagues across the State to paralyse the work in Government offices while observing the strike. Further, all departmental presidents of Jammu district with their colleagues are requested to follow the programmes. They said that the Government is only giving verbal assurances but nothing is being given in black and white. The Government should give at least written assurance and tell about the time frame for  redressal of their main issue.
Prominent among those who addressed the gathering included Babu Hussain Malik, Ravi Singh Bhau, Anil Mehta, Ashish Sharma, Bharat Bhushan,  Meenakshi Sharma, Gurmeet Singh,  Ashok Singh, Yash Paul Sharma, B B Kotwal, Ashok Singh, Ravi Kumar, Harvinder Singh, Mohd Saleem, Mohd Latief, Onkar Verma, Arun Sharma, Sewa Ram Rathore, Farida Bano, Umar Jan, Kuldip Kotwal, Darshan Angurana, Ansuya Gupta, Gurjeet Singh and others.