BSP announces candidates for Jammu-Poonch, Kathua-Doda seats

BSP leaders alongwith party candidates for Lok Sabha elections.
BSP leaders alongwith party candidates for Lok Sabha elections.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Mar 20: Retd Chief Engineer Tilak Raj Bhagat and Badrinath shall be Bahujan Samaj Party candidates from Kathua-Udhampur-Doda and Jammu-Poonch seats, respectively, in the scheduled Lok Sabha elections.
This was announced by BSP State president Som Raj Majotra while addressing a news conference, here today.
“The party has given chance to ground level workers as candidates for the Lok Sabha elections and both the candidates are well educated, dedicated and missionary workers of the party,” he said and claimed that the party would succeed in the elections with high scoring votes and create a bench mark in the history of J&K Parliamentary elections.
“We will fight for justice for the depressed classes and to keep the BJP and others political parties away from power,’ he said and slammed the Government at the Centre, claiming that it has failed to fulfill even 50 per cent of what was promised to the people of the country and the J&K State. “It is almost going to be five years of BJP Government at centre. BJP, especially Narendra Modi, has not fulfilled even 50 percent of the promises made in 2014,” he said.
Talking about the Ram Mandir issue, he said that the BJP has raised the temple issue to divert the attention of the public from their failures. “Had their intentions been good they needn’t have waited for five years. It’s their political tactics and nothing else,” he added.
The BSP leader lamented that youth were unemployed while the gap between poor and rich was not shrinking. “Narendra Modi has miserably failed as a Prime Minister. People are now seeing through their mistakes and even the first time voters are refraining from voting for the BJP,” he said.
The BSP president appealed to people of Jammu and Kashmir to cast their votes in favour of BSP candidates who are committed for the welfare of public and maintaining peace and normalcy in Jammu and Kashmir State.
Vice president Charanjit Bitta, general secretaries R K Thappa and Pritam Chand, Raj Singh, Rattan Chand Bhagat, Pushp Kumar, Desh Raj, Gourav, Sunil Majotra, Naresh Kumar and Vijay Kumar were also present in the press conference.