Brahman Sabha to celebrate Parshuram Jayanti on May 8-9

DBPS president addressing a press conference at Jammu on Friday.
DBPS president addressing a press conference at Jammu on Friday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, May 6: Dogra Brahman Pratinidhi Sabha, Jammu is going to celebrate Bhagwan Shri Parshuram Jayanti on May 8-9 at the Sabha Bhawan, Parade besides taking out an impressive Shobha Yatra in the city.
The Shobha Yatra will be taken out on May 9 while Pooja Archana and Hawan etc will be performed on May 8 amidst Vedic rituals and religious fervour. ‘Eik Sham Bhagwan Parshuram Ji Ke Naam’, a Bhajan Sandhya by renowned singer Komal Sharma, is the new highlight of this year’s celebrations on Parshuram Jayanti.
This was informed by Ved Parkash Sharma, president of the Brahman Sabha, while addressing a press conference, here today.
He said that there will be no solemnizing of the Yagypaveet ceremony this year as the Sanskrit scholars  and majority of Pandits were not in favour of holding the ritual due to ‘Shukra’ in ‘Ast’ condition and the same is not considered as a pious period for the purpose.
“On May 9, after Pooja of Bhagwan Shree Parshuram Ji, a Langer will be held at 1 pm to 2 pm after which an impressive Shobha Yatra will be taken out from Dogra Brahman Pratinidhi Sabha,” Ved Parkash Sharma said.
The Shobha Yatra will pass from Moti Bazar, Pacca Danga, Chowk Chabutra, Panjtirthi, Mubarak Mandi, Jain Bajar, Link Road, Purani Mandi, City Chowk, Kanak Mandi, Rajinder Bazar, Raghunath Bazar, City Chowk and Shalamar before culmination at Chanakya Chowk Parade Jammu, he added.
The Brahman Sabha president appealed people, particularly Brahmans, to attend and participate in the said functions with full enthusiasm and get the blessing of Bhagwan Parshuram.
Others, who were present in the press conference, included V M Magotra, Satya Paul Sharma, N C Sharma, Jagan Nath Sharma, Shiv Ram Sharma, Satya Nand Sharma, Dr Som Dutt Magotra, Shree Kerni, Subash Shastri, P C Sharma, Jagan Nath Sharma, Shiv Charan Dass Sharma, Satpal Sharma, Mohan Lal Sharma, Krishan Lal Sharma, Gurdas Sharma, Girdhari Lal Sharma, Prem Sharma, Ramesh Sharma, Kishore Sharma and Rajesh Bargotra.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here