Booth level workers backbone of Congress: Bhalla

JKPCC vice-president, Raman Bhalla addressing booth level workers at Gandhi Nagar constituency.
JKPCC vice-president, Raman Bhalla addressing booth level workers at Gandhi Nagar constituency.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, May 26: Booth level workers are the real backbone of Congress party whose contribution in organizing various programmes and disseminating party programmes and policies amongst masses can never be ignored. It is because of this force that Congress has scaled new heights and winning over hearts of masses in J&K State.
This was stated by former Minister and senior Congress leader Raman Bhalla while addressing a booth level workers’ meet of Gandhi Nagar Assembly Constituency, where he was invited as chief guest. The meet was well attended by booth level workers who resolved to strengthen the party at all levels and spread party’s programmes in every nook and corner of the State.
Bhalla said be it party’s identified programmes, elections, organising mass contact programmes or organising State as well as Centrally sponsored programmes booth level workers always stay on forefront which is why Congress is able to reach its targets in Gandhi Nagar constituency. He asked them to keep maintaining this momentum so that party is able to reach out to masses in a bigger way.
Urging party workers, leaders and booth level workers to prepare for coming Assembly polls, Bhalla said that the aim of holding these elections is to decentralise powers and make people partners in developmental works. He also said BJP has no road map for the equitable and harmonious development of the State.
“People gave them massive mandate on their tall claims to champion the cause of the region but the BJP and its leadership in the State has failed miserably to serve the interests of Jammu people. Instead of serving the people the BJP is dividing the people by raising emotional and sensitive issues most tactically”, said Bhalla, adding that BJP has no programme and policy for the welfare of people except to divide the people on communal lines.
Prominent among those present on the occasion included Block presidents Satish Sharma, Amrit Bali, Surinder Singh Dutt, Yudhvir Singh, Jatinder Singh Chib, Mandeep Singh and Corporators Dewerka Choudhary, Shobat Ali, Pritam Singh, Bannu Mahajan and Inderjeet Kour.