Bonie Shehjar-an anthology of Kashmiri poems released

CUJ VC and others releasing a collection of Kashmiri poems.
CUJ VC and others releasing a collection of Kashmiri poems.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Oct 16: “Bonie Shehjar” an anthology of Kashmiri poems, was released during a function here yesterday under the aegis of SAMPRITI (Kashmiri Bhasha Evam Samskriti Pratishthan).
Prof Ashok Aima, Vice Chancellor, Central University of Jammu, was chief guest on the occasion and he released the book, which has been authored by Pandit Moti Lal Raina, retired Assistant Director Postal Services Jammu and Kashmir, with a forward by the famous poet Prof Rehman Rahi.
The session was presided over by well known scholar, Prof P N Trisal, former, Head Department of Hindi, University of Jammu. The function started with an invocation by reciting a poem by Sham Bihari and a welcome address presented by Ashok Gowhar, Vice President SAMPRITI. Introduction about the author was given by Dr M K Raina, retired Professor and Head P G Dept of Zoology, University of Kashmir.
Dr P L Koul, retired as Govt College Principal and Prof P N Trisal read two papers on the said book. Both the litterateurs elucidated and discussed the poems thoroughly and even compared some of the poems with English poets.
Prof Ashok Aima, in his speech, praised the efforts of the displaced community in general, particularly in producing a wealth of literate in exile. He further said that this is in tradition with the great scholars of Kashmir who in the past have contributed to different aspects of fine arts, literature, History etc, like, Kalhana, Bilhana, Jonaraja etc.
The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr R L Bhat, who spoke at length about the value of critical appreciation. The whole programme was anchored by Tej Sagar, Secretary, SAMPRITI. The function was attended by a galaxy of poets, writers, and litterateurs, including Prof Chand Dhar, Dr Usha Dhar, Prof H L Misri, B K Sanyasi, Santosh Shah Nadaan, Dr Ajay Misri, Dr Bawana Raina, Ganesh Koul, Rhinkoo Koul, Sudesh Raina, Anil Raina, Kiran Raina. Sunil Raina, Ashok Raina, J L Gowhar, R Agosh. Jawahar Lal Jawahar, A K Zadoo, Er Vinod, Ashok Koul and A K Naz.