BJP protests against attack on Shah’s roadshow in Kolkata

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, May 15: Raising banners of “save democracy, save Bengal”, Bharatiya Janata Party, (BJP) today held a protest demonstration against the cowardly attack on party national president, Amit Shah’s roadshow in Kolkata.
The demonstration was held by J&K Unit of party in connection with BJP nation-wide protests against Mamta Banerjee led Government today.
In J&K, protest was led by BJP State general secretary (Org.), Ashok Kaul who was also accompanied by State general secretaries, Dr. Narinder Singh, Yudhvir Sethi and other senior party leaders along with hundreds of party workers, in which all BJP activists sat on dharna putting fingers in their mouth to silently give a message against the onslaught on democracy, near statue of Maharaja Hari Singh, at Tawi Bridge here.
Yudhvir Sethi, while addressing strongly objected to the dracononian laws that have been imposed by Mamta Banerjee led Government in West Bengal. He said hooliganism is the main agenda of Trinamool Congress led by her to suppress the voice of masses and for this purpose she has kept an army of ruffians. He said that presently there is total lawlessness in West Bengal and its latest proof is attack by Trinamool goons on the peaceful rally of BJP national president, Amit Shah in Kolkata on Tuesday.
Dr. Narinder Singh, in his address, said that this is an attempt to strangulate democracy in Bengal, but BJP is determined to restore people’s confidence in the temple of democracy and party will see to it that all responsible be booked and dealt with iron hands. He said that Mamta is frustrated by the BJP’s growing base in the region, which forms the basis of her panicked and ugly political moves. It is imperative to finish the crooked era of black Government in the Bengal for the restoration of democracy and stability in the region, he added.
Dr. Singh, said that the BJP strongly denounces the act in which Trinamool workers vandalised an iconic statue of 19th century reformer Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar to give rise to political unrest in the State.
Mayor Chander Mohan Gupta, MLC Ashok Khajuria, Munish Sharma, Karan Singh, Arvind Gupta, Praduman Singh, Veenu Khanna, Dr. Pardeep Mahotra, Baldev Singh Billawaria, Jeet Angral, Garu Ram Bhagat,  Rajwal, Prem Gupta, Rajinder Singh Chib, Veena Gupta, Shailja Gupta, Vikas Choudhary, Chand Ji Bhat, Kulwant Bhatti, Jaideep Sharma, Govind Sarren, Bharat Bhushan Sharma, Adv. Hunar Gupta, Kuldeep Kandhari and others were amongst prominent BJP leaders present in Dharna protest.
Munish Sharma, conducted proceedings.