AWSC elects new office bearers

New office bearers of AWSC posing together for a photograph.
New office bearers of AWSC posing together for a photograph.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Aug 1: Association for Welfare of Senior Citizens (AWSC), J&K elected its new office bearers.
The new office bearers were elected during annual general body meeting of the Association held today at the conference hall of Indian Scouts and Guides office at Gandhi Nagar, Jammu.
The meeting unanimously elected Varinder Gupta as president of the Association. Dr Shashi Kant Goswami and O P Sharma were elected as general secretary and treasurer, respectively. The house nominated the outgoing president J S Sudan as patron of the Association.
Returning Officer for the election was S C Sharma while A K Arora (patron) and Prem Gupta (patron) were observers for the election process.
Earlier, outgoing president J S Sudan presented welcome address and Varinder Gupta read the annual report, narrating the details of activities carried out by the Association in last one and half year despite COVID pandemic. R S Broca (outgoing treasurer) presented the audit reports of the detailed accounts of the Association.
Members who have crossed the age of 85 years and are celebrating their Silver Jubilee of senior citizenship were honoured on the occasion. Those honoured were K K Mahajan, M M Gupta and Dr T R Gupta. The house also paid tributes to the members who passed away during the past year.