815 nominations filed in Jammu distt

85 join fray in Kathua, 58 in Udhampur

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Sept 25: Highest number of 815 nominations have been filed for Jammu Municipal Corporation and seven Municipal Committees of Jammu district. Today was last date for filing of nominations in Jammu district, which will go to first phase of polling on October 8.
Deputy Commissioner, Jammu, Ramesh Kumar, who happens to be the District Election Officer (DEO) for the Urban Local Bodies and Panchayat elections, told the Excelsior that 819 nomination forms were received till last minute of filing nomination papers today.
Maximum 486 nominations have been received for Jammu Municipal Corporation, 58 for Akhnoor Municipal Committee, 63 for Arnia MC, 64 for Bishnah MC, 21 for Gho Manhasan MC, 22 for Jourian MC and 63 for RS Pura MC.

Click here to watch video
Of them 306 belonged to national parties and 20 to regional parties. Rest were Independents.
Jammu district has one Municipal Corporation and seven Municipal Committees, he said, adding the filing of nomination process concluded peacefully.
Scrutiny of documents will be conducted tomorrow while candidates can withdraw their nomination papers till September 28.
No other district has reported such large number of nomination papers.
Meanwhile, 58 candidates have filed nomination papers for two Municipal Committees and one Municipal Council in Kathua district.
As per details, 50 persons filed nomination from Udhampur, 6 from Chenani and 2 from Ramnagar.
A total 85 candidates have filed their nomination papers across five Municipal Committees and one Municipal Council of Kathua district on the fourth day today.
Thirty five candidates including 12 females filed their nomination for Municipal Council, Kathua, 15 candidates including 5 females filed their papers for Billawar Municipal Committee and 9 candidates including 2 joined pray for Basholi Municipal Committee.
Similarly, 4 candidates including 2 females filed their nomination for Lakhanpur Municipal Committee while 2 males and 1 female filed papers for Hiranagar Municipal Committee.
For Basholi Municipal Committee, 9 candidates including 2 females filed their nomination for Basholi Municipal Committee and 7 male and 2 female candidates filed their nomination for Parole Municipal Committee.
Till date a total of 131 candidates have filed their nomination in the district of which, 41 candidates belonged to national parties, 7 to state level parties and 83 are Independent.
Nine candidates have filed their nominations on 6th day of filing of nomination papers for Urban Body polls to three Municipal Committees of district Ramban.
Till today, a total of 9 candidates have filed their nomination for Ramban ULB Polls of which 5 candidates belong to BJP and 4 as independents. No nomination has been yet filed for Municipal Committee of Ramban and Banihal.
Meanwhile 74 BJP workers filed nominations in Srinagar Municipal Corporation, Kulgam Municipal Committee, Devsar Municipal Committee, Bandipora Municipal Committee and Qazigund Municipal Committee.