7 personalities get Yashpal Sharma Memorial Award

State Election Commissioner B R Sharma addressing the function on Monday.
State Election Commissioner B R Sharma addressing the function on Monday.

BR Sharma recalls achievements of late leader

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 22: Seven prominent personalities were awarded with Yashpal Sharma Memorial Award for their contributions in different fields. The awards-giving function was organized by Parivartan-NGO working for the socio-economic growth and upliftment of the marginalized and needy sections of the society. B R Sharma, former Chief Secretary and State Election Commissioner was the chief guest in the award-giving function in which former IAS officer and PSC member K B Jandial and former District and Session Judge and PSC member Subash Gupta were guests of honour.
Seven awards were presented based on the recommendation of the award review committee. Those who were awarded this prestigious award included KD Maini, an eminent historian and writer, Sardar Gurdev Singh, President of J&K Sharanarthi Action Committee, Krishan Lal Sharma, an outstanding sportsperson and retired Divisional Sports Officer, Advocate Mohammad Zaman, former Bar Association President, Poonch, and Dr. Shailinder Sharma (posthumously) known for his exceptional health services in twin border districts of Rajouri and Poonch. The award committee also recommended two awards under the Young Achievers Category. Dr. Kewal Sharma, Medical Officer and Gagan Mahajan received awards under this category.
Speaking on the occasion, B R Sharma said that the late Yashpal Sharma dedicated his whole life to the people of Poonch. He said that the late leader had set an example for the younger generation to follow. He further informed that it was all due to the values and teachings of the Late Yashpal Sharma that his younger brother Dr. Sushil Sharma also dedicated his life to the service of society. Dr. Nitan Sharma, Assistant Professor, The Law School shed light on the contribution of Yashpal Sharma as a social reformer, political activist and a philanthropist.
Earlier the function started with the introductory address by Vikrant Sharma. Flower bouquets were presented to the guests on the occasion as a token of gratitude.The programme concluded with a formal vote of thanks by Romi Sharma, founder-cum-president Parivartan NGO.
Prominent others present on the occasion include Advocate Sunil Sharma, ex-President, Municipal Council Poonch, Maj Gen Goverdhan Singh Jamwal, Dr. Rekha Chowdhary, ex-MLC Ravinder Sharma, Dr. Javaid Rahi, Dr. Surinder Sharma, Dr. Sandeep Singh, Tirlok Singh Tara, Preeti Sharma, Ekshu Sharma, Ajeet Singh, Chattar Saini, Vijay Sharma, Satpal Charak, Dr Arvind Kohli (Vascular Surgeon), Mukund Lal Sharma, Advocate Sanjeev Sharma and Ifthkar Ahmed Bazmi.