142 GOs among 333 officials booked by SVO in graft cases

Gopal Sharma

JAMMU, Apr 14: Nearly 333 public servants including 142 Gazetted and two IAS and some Directors were booked by the State Vigilance Organization in last three years and 443 cases were challaned in the court of law in last seven years in the State.
Authoritative sources told the Excelsior that from January 2009 to ending December 2011, a total 187 cases were registered against 333 public servants including 142 Gazetted officers and high ranking officers by the Vigilance Organisation. The percentage of the proved cases which was 65% in 2005 has increased to 90% in 2011. Not only this, in 23 cases convictions were awarded during this period by the courts of Special Judge Anti-Corruption, Jammu/ Srinagar against 25 persons including 7 Gazetted officers.
Records compiled from the Home department revealed that Vigilance case against the then Dy Commissioner Kupwara Sayed Shah Lateefe has been transferred to Anti-Corruption court Jammu from Srinagar, while the cases against the then Chief Engineer R&B Shamas Din Koka, the Chief Engineer R&B Nazir Ahmed Shah, the then Chief Engineer I&FC Ghulam Hasan Shah, the then Director Social Welfare Ghulam Nabi Boda, retired IAS officer H L Kadalbhuju, Gulam Ahmed Dar, Director Horticulture, Dr M K Bhutyal the then Director Health Services Jammu, Dr M P Gupta the then Director Health Services Jammu, Dr Abdul Majid the then CMO Jammu, Dr B B Sharma then BMO Bishnah, Ghulam Mohiuddin Rather the then ACR (the then Collector Pahalgam), Masooda Yasin the then Director Technical Education, Abdul Majid the then General Manager Govt Press Srinagar were in the evidence/ charge stage.
The case of ARTO Anantnag Ali Mohd Wani, Dr G A Mir, the then BMO Ganderbal, Ranjeet Kour, the then Principal Govt AMT School Srinagar, Ghulam Ahmed Dhobi, the then BMO Hajan, Abdul Rashid Allaqaband the then tehsildar Tral, Abdul Rashid the then SHO Awantipura, Gulam Mohd the then Nazar DC Office Anantnag, Mohd Ashraf Bhat the then BDO Sopore, Dr Mohd Ismail the then Distt Health Officer Baramulla, Abdul Qayoom Bhat the then Chief Accounts Officer Kupwara, Mehmood Ahmed Bhat the then AO PDC Bemina, Subhan Shah the then AO PDD Basant Bagh, Ahmed Ullah Shah, the then ZEO Nishat, Dr Ghulam Nabi the then director Health Kashmir, were also in the Evidence stage.
The senior officers against whom the cases were in the charge stage are- Muzaffar Ahmed Lal, the then Branch Managar State Cooperative Bank Kangan, Gulam H Shah Chief Engineer Kashmir, Sodagar Singh the then Project Officer DRDA Pulwama, Altaf Hussain Pandit, the then Xen RDD, Gulam Ahmed Gir the then SDM Kishtwar, Abdul Khaliq Malla the then Xen R&B Division Chadoora, Abdul Rashid Kema the then General Manager SFC, Haleem Parveen the then Distt Social Welfare Officer Budgam, Abdul Rashid Haji the then Xen Mech, Hakeem Muktiar Ahmed the then RO Rajwara, Fayaz Ahmed Mir, the then Assistant Commissioner Development Srinagar and Habib Ullah Mir, the then Tehsildar Pulwama.
The other senior officers against whom the Vigilance cases were pending in the courts or booked by the agency in the last five to seven years are- the then Divisional Manager SICOP Mohd Anwar, the then Assistant Director CAPD Sgr Tariq Ahmed Qadiri, Khursheed Ahmed Nath the then AEE R&B Magam, Dr Khursheed Alam the then Prof General Surgery SKIMS Sgr, Nazir Ahmed Chisti the then ZEO Kangan, Aga Sayed Jamal the then TSWO Beerwah, Abdul Samad Nazar the then TSWO Bandipora, Teerth Singh the then CMO Baramulla, Mehmooda Hakim the then TSWO Tangmarg, Saleema Azad the then TSWO Pattan, Farooq Ahmed Khooru the then AEE PHE Sumbal, Dr Saifuddin Khan the then CMO Baramulla, Ghulam Mohiddin the then AEE in BDO Office Shopian, Ghulam Hyder Mir the then Tehsildar Pulwama, Mohd Shafi Chikan the then Xen R&B Qazigund, Haleem Mufti the then DEO Pulwama, Kounsar Naqashbandi the then TSWO Tangmarg, Abdul Majid Nhat the then CMO Pulwama, Dr Bashir Ahmed Khan the then BMO Sallar, Mohd Shafi Dar the then Asstt Registrar Cooperative Society Humama, Rifat Qureshi the then CDPO Taral, Hamid Ullah the then Xen LAWDA, Sgr, Mohd Afzal the then CDPO Hajan, Mohd Ashraf the then Sports Officer, Sports Council Sgr, Baldev Singh the then Sports Officer, Dr Surinder Singh the then Distt Sheep Husbandry Officer Baramulla, Wali Mohd the then CEO Kupwara, Mohd Ramzan Nadaf the then Xen Housing Board Sgr, Abdul Ramid Mir Inspector JKAP 6th Bn, Abdul Majid the then CEO Pulwama, Ghulam Rasool Sheikh the then Xen Flood Control Div Baramulla, Sajjad Ali Bhat the then AEE SPCB Sgr, Ghulam Ahmed Nazar the then DyGM SFC, Habib Ullah Mir the then Tehsildar, Ghulam Hyder Bhat the then Director Agriculture Kashmir, Sami Ullah the then AEE REW, Zubeda Jhan the then Building Inspector SMC, G M Bhat the then AO SRTC, Nazir Ahmed Shah the then Xen R&B Sopore, Altaf Hussain Pandit the then Xen RDD, Bilal Ahmed cashier in ARTO office Pulwama, Wali Mohd Bhat the then Panchayat Officer Kupwara, Ghulam Qadiri the then ZEO Ganderbal, Mohd Shaban the then AAO in R&B Circle Anantnag, Sayed Gulam Nabi Geelani the then Principal Hr Sc School D H Pora, Mohd Akram Khan the then Tehsildar Chaddora, Noor Mohd Bhat the then Dy Director FPF, Beerwa, Ghulam Nabi Sheikh the then IPO DIC Sgr, Imtiaz Ahmed the then SO Hospitality and Protocol department, Muzaffar Iqbal the then Dy Director SWD Kashmir, Mir Naseem Ahmed then Chief Town Planner Kashmir, Mohd Afzal the then Xen Project Constt Circle –I Sgr, Abdul Hamid Shawl the then Xen PDD Bijbehara, Abdul Rashid the then PO ACD office Kupwara, Parvez Ahmed Naqash the then Xen Gulmarg Development Authority, Mohd Tariq the then Dy Dir SWD, Krishan Dass the then BDO Kalakote, Sham Lal the then Executive Officer NAC Katra, Inder Singh the then Director IPP Jammu, Bodh Raj Malagar the then Tehsildar / Chairman NAC Akhnoor, Mohd Aslam Qureshi the then VC JDA, Rajesah Pandoah the then Estates Manager SICOP, Udhampur, V P Malhotra the then Project Manager SICOP, Jammu, Mohd Anwar the then Project Engineer SICOP, O N Raina the then Jt Director Poultry Jammu, Ajit Kumar the then Commissioner Secretary Education, Janak Singh the then FA to Addl Chief Secretary, Education, Jatinder Kumar Gupta the then AO, Mohd Yousuf Gilkar the then Dy Custodian Poonch, Shaheen Akhtar the then ZEO Rajouri, Firdous Hussain the then Manager JK Bank Doda, Tarloki Nath the then BDO Lohai Malhar, Rajinder Parsad Manhas the then SDAO Doda, Daleep Singh the then AEO Marmat, Prithvi Raj the then ADAO Ramban, Muneer Hussain Astt Suptd Distt Jail Jammu, Mohd Hafiz the then ACR Poonch, Gh Rasool the then Tehsildar Surankote, Ashok Kumar Gupta the then Tehsildar Kathua, Diwan Singh the then Naib Tehsildar, K K Arora the then CE PWD, Parshotam Kumar Samnotra, the then Xen R&B, Satpal Pandoh the then Xen R&B, Mohinder Lal the then Forester/ Incharge RO IWDP Thandapani, Mohd Zaman the then Distt Officer KVIB Rajouri, Janak Singh the then Tehsildar recovery, Dr Naginder Sharma the then VC SKUAST, Ashok Kumar the then Registar SKUAST, Jammu, Iqbal Singh and Vijay Kumar (SKUAST),Narinder Singh the then I/C Asstt Director CAPD, Baldev Singh the then Inspector CAPD Jammu, Thakur Dass the then CEO Poonch and AO Jatinder Kumar Gupta in Education department, Jammu.