YSR Congress wins 3 Assembly seats in Andhra bypolls

HYDERABAD, June 15: YSR Congress party has won three Assembly constituencies, whose results were declared till noon among the 18 seats where bypolls were held in Andhra Pradesh.
The YS Jaganmohan Reddy-led party has bagged Yemmiganur, Polavaram and Rayadurg Assembly seats.
YSR Congress candidate K Chennakesava Reddy has won the Yemmiganur seat by a margin of 20,103 votes, while YSRCP nominee T Balaraju emerged victorious in Polavaram with a majority of 25,351 votes, state Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwar Lal told reporters.
In Rayadurg, YSR Congress candidate K Ramachandra Reddy won by 24,000 votes, official sources said.
The YSRCP candidates were leading in 12 other constituencies and also the Nellore Lok Sabha seat.
The ruling Congress candidates were leading in Narsapur and Ramachandrapuram Assembly constituencies, while the main Opposition Telugu Desam was trailing behind its rivals in all the seats.
The TRS was ahead in Parkal, the lone Assembly segment in Telangana region, where bypoll was held.
Bypolls to 16 of the 18 Assembly constituencies were necessitated as sitting Congress MLAs were disqualified by the Assembly Speaker for switching loyalty to YSR Congress chief Jaganmohan Reddy and voting against the Congress government during a no-trust vote in December.
Also, actor-turned-politician Chiranjeevi resigned as MLA following his election to Rajya Sabha that caused bypoll in another seat.
The sitting Congress MP quit in support of Jagan which necessitated by-election for Lok Sabha constituency in Nellore.
Jagan is currently in jail in connection with a disproportionate assets case. Meanwhile, Congress has bagged the Narsapuram Assembly constituency in West Godavari district.
Congress nominee K Subbarayudu defeated his nearest YSRC rival M Prasad Raju by a margin of 4,464 votes, official sources said.
While Subbarayudu polled 58,356 votes the YSRC candidate secured 53,892 votes. (PTI)