UP bypolls: Four-cornered contest on the anvil

LUCKNOW, June 26:
With the electoral alliance between the Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party ending in a divorce, the upcoming bypolls to 12 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh are likely to witness a four-cornered contest.
The Lok Sabha election and the 2017 UP Assembly election were rather triangular, where the Samajwadi Party had a tie-up with the Congress (in 2017 UP Assembly polls) or the BSP (2019 Lok Sabha election).
It was in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that the BJP, Congress, SP, BSP and the RLD contested individually in the state.
Bypolls will be held in 11 Assembly seats of UP, as
sitting MLAs were elected as MPs, and in Hamirpur due to disqualification of BJP MLA Ashok Kumar Singh Chandel following conviction in a murder case.
Of the four ministers who contested the Lok Sabha
elections, except Mukut Bihari Verma, who lost from Ambedkar Nagar, three others won the poll. They include Rita Bahuguna Joshi from Allahabad, Satyadev Pachauri from Kanpur and SP Singh Baghel from Agra.
Joshi was MLA from Lucknow Cantonment, while Satyadev Pachauri represented Govindnagar (Kanpur). Baghel was the sitting MLA from Tundla (SC) assembly seat.
Among the other BJP legislators, RK Singh Patel won the Banda Lok Sabha seat. He is a legislator from Manikpur assembly seat in the same parliamentary constituency.
Similarly, BJP MLA from Iglas, Rajvir Singh Valmiki Diler won the Hathras Lok Sabha seat and party legislator from Zaidpur, Upendra Rawat won from Barabanki.
BJP legislator from Gangoh, Pradeep Chaudhary won the Kairana Lok Sabha seat, while another legislator from Balha assembly seat, Akshaywar Lal Gaud won from Bahraich.
The Samajwadi Party had fielded its Rampur MLA Mohammad Azam Khan from the Lok Sabha seat of the same name. Khan was defeated by actor Jaya Prada of the BJP.
BSP MLA Ritesh Pandey and Apna Dal MLA Sangam Lal
Gupta, who contested on a BJP ticket also won from Ambedkar Nagar and Pratapgarh seats respectively.
Assembly constituencies, which have fallen vacant
following the election of sitting MLAs as MPs are Manikpur, Iglas (SC), Zaidpur (SC), Gangoh, Balha (SC), Rampur, Jalalpur, Pratapgarh, Lucknow Cantonment, Govindnagar and Tundla (SC). (PTI)