Teachers Forum resents test for those having degrees from distance mode

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 26: Jammu Kashmir Teachers Forum has strongly condemned  the Education Department authorities for issuing recent order whereby those having degree from distance mode will have to appear in the test for getting promotion.
The resentment was voiced during a meeting of the  Forum, held today under the chairmanship of  Ganesh Khajuria,  State general secretary of the JKTF. In the meeting discussions were held regarding the burning problems being faced by the teaching community.
While speaking on the occasion,  Ganesh Khajuria said that the Government order for those having degrees from distance mode, is highly discriminatory and another tool of harassment to teaching community. The leaders vowed to oppose this order tooth and nail till the order is withdrawn.
The speakers also expressed their great resentment over the in-ordinate delay in the issuance of adjustment orders in favour of those promotee Masters who were promoted in February  2014, thereby adjusting some of them by resorting to pick and choose and favouritism but majority of them are still awaiting their adjustment orders. “The recent Govt. order of test for promotion does not apply on them as their promotions through DPC were made way back in Feb 2014 so the order cannot have retrospective effect. Since there is no legal hindrance in this case, the Forum appeals to the Govt  to issue adjustment order of remaining promote Masters with effect from  February  2014 with all consequential benefits including seniority and monetary benefits,” Ganesh Khajuria said.
The Forum also appealed the Government  to release the pending salary grants in favour of SSA / RMSA / NPS immediately so that all the pending claims are disposed off before the end of current financial year so as to enable the teachers to calculate their income tax well in time.
Prominent among those who attended the meeting included:  Gopal Singh, Kuldeep Singh, Surat Singh Toofani, Jamat Ali Agha, Yograj Singh, Ravinder Singh, Darshan Sharma, Shankar Singh, Goutam Singh, PD Singh, Ashok Kharyal, Kuldeep Singh Bandral, Goldy Walia, Satish Chadha, J D Sharma, Parveen Kumar, Pawan Kumar, Rajiv Kumar, K D Manhas, Manoj Kumar, Pardeep Kumar, Daya Krishan and others.