Slathia promises to further develop Vijaypur Constituency

Excelsior Correspondent

MLA Surjit Singh Slathia addressing poll rally at Rajwal on Thursday.—Excelsior/Gautam
MLA Surjit Singh Slathia addressing poll rally at Rajwal on Thursday. —Excelsior/Gautam

VIJAYPUR, Nov 20: Senior vice president, Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (NC) and MLA Surjeet Singh Slathia today reaffirmed his commitment to put the Vijaypur Constituency on fast-track development, saying though much has been done yet more is required to be achieved in the coming years.
Addressing several election meetings at Rajwal, Kesso, Kamore, Kamore Camp, Rangoor,Gobindgarh, Chak Babral, Chak Paras, Dadyal and Indira Colony Swankha Morh in the Constituency, where from he is contesting in the ensuing elections, Mr Slathia said  that due to efforts made during the recent years a discernible performance has been registered in rural development and various other sectors of infrastructural development especially, health, education, roads and buildings, public health engineering and power.
He said National Conference has all along worked for the betterment of the people especially those belonging to weaker sections and remote areas. “We will not deviate from our chosen path of public service”, he declared.
Mr Slathia said that National Conference has taken big leaf towards  women empowerment by giving them adequate representation in Panchayats and ensured their vital role in decision making,. Similarly, he said several initiatives have been taken for the youth, who form majority of the State’s population. In this context he referred to the initiatives like Udaan and Himayat saying special thrust has been laid on employability.
The former  Minister made a passionate appeal to the people for ensuring success of National Conference with huge majority. He gave an overview of the achievements of the Omar led Government during the past six years and said this has transformed the State in a big way.
Those who were present included Puran Chand Sarpanch, Chaino Ram, Kanta Devi, Des Raj Verma, Panch  Raj Kumari, Sarpanch Prem Paul Choudhary, Yash Paul Singh and Sub. Paul Singh.