SKUAST-J Convocation begins with Lal Bahadur Shastri, V Kurien Lectures

SKUAST-Jammu Vice Chancellor and others lighting ceremonial lamp during inaugural of 3-day convocation on Sunday.
SKUAST-Jammu Vice Chancellor and others lighting ceremonial lamp during inaugural of 3-day convocation on Sunday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, June 26: Three-day Convocation of SKUAST-Jammu began today with Lal Bahadur Shastri and Dr Verghese Kurien Memorial lectures, delivered by Dr P L Gautam, Pro-Chancellor, Career University, Hamirpur (HP) and Dr A K Srivastava, Vice Chancellor, DUVASU, Mathura, respectively.
Dr P L Gautam spoke on the evolution of Land Grant Universities in India and said that the concept that originated from USA has different laws and acts enacted in USA for establishment of Land Grant Universities and how the journey shifted to India for its establishment. He also talked about the status of Agricultural Education in India since medieval period and stressed upon to revisit the Agricultural Universities in view of mushrooming of new private Universities/ colleges and emerging national/global issues.
Dr A K Srivastava, while delivering Dr Verghese Kurien Lecture, deliberated on glorious saga of Indian Dairy Sector which is a classical example of Atma Nirbhar Bharat. He stressed upon the need for stability and strengthening of Indian dairy sector. Although, India is high milk producing country but low milk productivity is the major issue which needs to be addressed, he added.
Earlier, Prof J P Sharma, Vice Chancellor of SKUAST-Jammu, presented major achievements of the University in the field of education, research and extension. He said recently three new faculties namely, Faculty of Agricultural Engineering, Faculty of Dairy Technology and Faculty of Horticulture and Forestry have been sanctioned, thus taking the total strength of existing faculties to six.
To inculcate competitive spirit among various divisions of the faculties, a competition was held in which presentations were also made by the Head of the Division of all the three faculties regarding academic, research and extension achievements of their respective divisions.
Vice Chancellor Open Badminton Tournament was also held on this occasion and trophies were awarded to the winners. Among the faculty, Dr Puneet Choudhary and Dr Vinod Gupta won the Badminton Double and Dr Akhil won the Singles. Cultural programme was also organized. Dr M C Sharma, former Vice Chancellor, IVRI; Dr U C Sharma, Ex-National Director, ICAR; Dr S P Tiwari, Vice Chancellor, Jabalpur University; Dr Bechan Lal, Vice Chancellor, Cluster University, Jammu; Dr Umesh Rai, Vice Chancellor, University of Jammu, statutory officers of the University, Head of various Divisions, KVKs, and Research Stations; faculty and students were present on the occasion.