Seminar on ‘History of Dogri Language & Literature’ at JU

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 21: Sahitya Academy New Delhi, in collaboration with the PG Department of Dogri in Jammu University, is organizing a two-day seminar on “History of Dogri Language and Literature” at JU Campus, here today.
The inaugural session today was presided over by Prof Anju Bhasin, Dean Academic Affairs and Dean Research Studies, JU. She emphasised that language and literature are inextricably linked with the socio-cultural ethos of the region. “In the rapidly transforming digital age, the preservation and promotion of regional languages like Dogri become imperative. Academics can contribute a lot to retaining and promoting the Dogri language and literature,” she said.
While delivering the introduction remarks, Mohan Singh, convenor of the Dogri Advisory Board and Padmashri awardee, said that the history of language is very important and everyone should know the history of their language and literature. “Literature and language are reflections of the social, economic, and political values of their time. Everyone should feel proud of their language and literature while studying its positive aspects faithfully,” he said.
Key note address was delivered by Dr Om Goswami, an eminent writer of Dogri. He declared that Dogri literature can trace its history right back to the 12th century, like other modern Indian languages.
The welcome address was given by Dr N Suresh Babu, Deputy Secretary of Sahitya Akademi, and the Special remarks were given by Prof Sucheta Pathania, Dean of the Faculty of Arts while Prof Sushma Sharma, former HoD Dogri, presented the formal vote of thanks.
In addition to the inaugural session, the seminar will have four sessions with three papers in each. The scholars of excellence at Dogri will present their papers on the most unexplored subjects. The first two sessions will deal with the history of language, and the other two sessions will deal with the history of literature. Stalwarts of Dogri literature, like Padamshri Narsingh Dev Jamwal, Padamshri Shiv Nirmohi, Prof Veena Gupta and Prof Archana Kesar will chair these sessions. The paper readers are Prakash Premi, Shiv Doblia, Tarseem Raina, Vijay Verma, Sushma Rani, Swarn Singh Kohstani, Neelam Sarin, Chanchal Bhasin, Radha Rani, Radha Sharma, Sandeep Sufi and Padam Dev Singh.