Saraf vs Jagjivan in Reasi, BJP to get Samba unopposed

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 9: The National Conference has enforced a contest in Reasi District Development Council (DDC) with former Minister Jagjivan Lal deciding to join the fray for the post of chairperson against BJP’s Saraf Singh Nag, the election for which is scheduled to be held tomorrow.
Jagjivan Lal, DDC member and former MLA from Reasi, confirmed to the Excelsior tonight that he will be contesting for the post of chairman.
In the House of 14, BJP has seven members followed by National Conference three, Apni Party two, Independent and Congress one each.
BJP insiders said the party has already gained support of an Independent and will be easily through with eight seats.
However, Jagjivan Lal was equally confident saying the members are with him.
The BJP has decided to field Abdul Rashid, who had won the election from ST Reserve seat of Jij Bagli, for the post of vice chairman.
The Opposition will also field a candidate for the post of vice chairperson.
Apni Party’s DDC member and former Minister Aijaz Khan said his party is not contesting the election in Reasi DDC.
Asked whether Apni Party will support the BJP, Khan said there are no talks between the two parties.
It may be mentioned here that the BJP member had supported Apni Party in the Srinagar DDC election for the chairperson.
Election will also be held tomorrow for the top posts of Samba DDC and election of BJP member Keshav Sharma for the post of chairman and Balwan Singh for vice chairman will be held unopposed as the BJP has 13 out of 14 seats in the district. Lone Opposition member is from National Conference but he can’t contest without proposer and seconder.