PHDCCI delegation calls on Commissioner Secy I&C

Members of PHDCCI delegation in a meeting with Commissioner Secretary I&C Manoj Kumar Dwivedi.
Members of PHDCCI delegation in a meeting with Commissioner Secretary I&C Manoj Kumar Dwivedi.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 27: A delegation of PHD Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Jammu chapter, led by its Chairman Rahul Sahai today called on Commissioner Secretary, Industries & Commerce, Manoj Kumar Dwivedi.
The delegation urged upon the Commissioner Secretary to continue the channel of communication set by the present Government with the industry. The issues raised by the delegation included need of a single-window department headed by a CEO for providing clearances to industries, opting chairpersons of both Jammu as well as Kashmir PHDCCI as members of Export Promotion Board and provision of mentoring, facilitation and guidance to entrepreneurs.
A proposal for diagnostic study of industrial estates was also submitted to the Commissioner Secretary. Other points projected and discussed included promotion of medical tourism, infrastructure upgradation of industrial estates, rural connectivity with industrial estates, skill development, labour related incentives, MSME fundings and industrial benefits to hotel industry.
Sahai highlighted issue of levy of bottling fee of Rs 10 per litre to beer/liquor manufacturing units in J&K while stating that because of this duty, local units having investment of Rs 100 crores are getting sick. He also Sahai suggested to give free hold rights for existing units having PMT for more than 20 years, stating that it can benefit unit holders in taking funding from banks.
Several innovative suggestions for improving Ease of Doing business like removal of 5% levies imposed on change of line of manufacturer, transfer of property to legal heir and conversion of firm to company were also given to the Commissioner Secretary.
Commissioner Secretary assured the delegation that a blue print for ‘Ease of Doing Business’ is also in offing which would greatly encourage the sector. Dwivedi assured the delegation that all their proposals and submissions would be thoroughly studied and appropriate action would be taken by the department in this regard.
The delegation comprised of Co-Chairman Kuldeep Gupta, former Chairman Vikrant Kuthiala, Vinod Sachdeva, Prem Dewan, Ajay Gandotra, Chaitanya Choudhary, Siddhant Choudhary, Vinay Sharma, Jaspal Singh and Sujiv Jain.