PDD daily wagers ‘Kaam Chor Hartal’ enters 17th day, submit memorandum to DyCM

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 14: The “Kaam Chor Hartal” by the daily wagers of Power Development Department (PDD) entered 17th day at Development Commissioner Power (DCP) Office, Janipur, here today.
The protest led by Surjeet Khajuria, President, All J&K PDD Daily Wagers Union raised slogans against PDD Administration and Government for making false promises with them
The protesters took out a peace march from the office of DCP to Superintending Engineer, EM&RE Circle, Panama Chowk as no authority has taken care of these agitators.
While addressing the agitating employees, Surjeet Khajuria stated that the concerned authorities have given only fake assurances as not even a single daily wager has been regularised in Jammu District.
“Even no DPC has been convened since last 3 years”, he said and urged all the daily wagers of Jammu District to regularly participate in agitation at SE Office at Panama Chowk, for expressing resentment against the department and show solidarity with the daily wagers.
Some authorities are forcing and pressurizing the daily wagers to attend their duties and in case any causality took place in the field with any daily wager, the concerned higher official will be held responsible, Khajuria added.
He said that no representative from the department has contacted or approached the agitating workers, which is raising resentment amongst them, adding that they will continue their hartal till the final outcome of this strike.
Bharat Singh, Chairman of the Union said that the Administration has not accepted our genuine demands and forcing them to continue their strike.
Khajuria appealed to Power Minister Dr Nirmal Singh to personally intervene into the matter and redress the long pending demand of the daily wagers.
A memorandum was presented to the Deputy Chief Minister, who happens to be Power Minister through the Divisional Commissioner Jammu.
Vice Chairman, Gurnam Slathia, District President Devinder Singh, Ajay Singh, Gurdeep Singh, Sansar Singh, Rajinder Singh, Mohan Singh, Bachan Lal, Naresh Kumar, Vikas Singh, Agam Sharma, Ramesh Kumar, Jagdev Singh and many others also expressed their views.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here