Neonatology Deptt created in GMC Jammu

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Aug 17: In another milestone achievement, Super Specialty Department of Neo-Natology has been created in Government Medical College (GMC) Jammu.
The order in this connection was issued by Principal & Dean GMC Jammu Dr Shashi Sudhan Sharma in compliance to the Government Order Me-Gztd./107/2021 dated 02/08/2022 wherein permission to start D M Neonatology course was granted by the Administrative Department.
Department of Pediatrics, SMGS Hospital Jammu has been charged with the responsibility to cater not only to the in-house high risk newborns delivered in this Hospital, but also to accommodate sick newborns referred by CHCs, District Hospital and also from Private Nursing Homes.
Presently, the Department of Pediatrics has been managing the Neonatal ICUs and these sick newborns are provided care in this department. At any given time, there are 140-160 newborns admitted in this hospital, of which 60-70 require special skilled in-patient care and 30-40 require intensive monitoring and ventilation under ICU facility.
With the creation of Super Specialty Department of Neonatology, GMC Jammu can start DM Neonatology course, which will further produce specialized doctors in the field of Neonatology. Thus, GMC Jammu shall become the first institute to start D M Neonatology course in J&K.
The newly created Department shall provide care to the newborns in NICUs and Neonatal Wards, Level III care and ventilation facilities especially to the extremely low birth weight high risk newborns, etc.
Till the posts are created and filled in the Neonatology Department, staff of existing Department of Pediatrics has been deputed to run the affairs of the newly created department. According to the order, Dr Ashu Jamwal (Professor) shall head the Neonatology department.
Other faculty members deputed in the newly created department are Dr Anuj Bhatti (Associate Professor), Dr Anumodan Gupta (Lecturer), Dr Ajay Choudhary, Pediatrician (NHM), Dr Divya Sarmal, Medical Officer (NHM), Dr Punika Dubey, Medical Officer (NHM) and Dr Rittu Bangotra, Medical Officer.