NC seeks LG’s intervention in releasing migrants relief

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU Sept 20: Expressing serious concern and anguish over the indifference of the administration towards the displaced Kashmiri migrants especially for stopping the cash assistance to the relief holders, National Conference (NC) provincial vice president, Anil Dhar today sought the intervention by the Lieutenant Governor, Manoj Sinha for resolving the issue forthwith.
“Monthly cash assistance is the only source of sustenance for many displaced Kashmiri Pandit families and how can the concerned agency be so callous by not understanding and appreciating this fact”, Dhar said while interacting with the senior functionaries and members of the NC Minority Cell here this afternoon.
He said the insensitivity of stoppage of this the administration speaks volumes about its callousness and high moral grandstanding with regard to mitigating the sufferings of the segment of society hounded out from their homes and hearths over three decades ago, Dhar said and sought immediate course correction in the mechanism to avert recurrence of such insensitivities.
Dhar exhorted the administration to delink the payment of relief from the payment of dues to contractors, which results in such contingencies. He hoped early redressal of the problem and also sought registration of all displaced Kashmiri migrants under Ayush scheme.
While seeking immediate and regulated release of cash assistance to accredited displaced population, Chairman NC Minority Cell and former MLC, Bushanlal Bhat also made a strong plea for raising adequate number of apartments in all the cities, towns and other urban centres in the Valley for safe, dignified and smooth return and rehabilitation of the unfortunate community after three decades of exile.
Speaking on the occasion, President, JKNC Minority Cell, M K Yogi also decried the avoidable delay in the payment of cash assistance to the displaced people.
Prominent among those present in the meeting included AK Raina, TK Koul, Jatin Bhat, Gopi Kishen, Umesh Talashi and Balji Bhat.