National Voters Day celebrated

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 24: National Voters Day was celebrated by various educational institutions.
To celebrate National Voters Day, NSS unit of the Government College of Education in collaboration with College’s SVEEP Campaign Club organised a programme where a pledge was administered to the staff and students for “Saat Pratisat” voting. A symposium was organised on the topic “Significance of National Voters Day”, in which students conveyed the message of strength of democracy and significance of voting. Ishtiaq Ahmed, Neelam Rekha and Madhu Fakwaria were adjudged first, second and third respectively by the jury members consisting of Charanjeet Kour, Ashfaq and Pritam Singh. Prizes were also distributed amongst the winners by Komal Kotwal, Priya Sharma and Vikram Singh. Principal of the college Dr Ajeet Angral was also present while Prof Anju Bala, Dr Raj Singh Narania, Prof CL Shivgotra, Dr Piyali Arora and Prof Ashu Jolly acted as observers. The vote of thanks was presented by Akriti Sharma whileas Shalini Rajput compared the programme.
The NSS unit of Dogra College of Education in connection with National Voters’ Day organised a Poster Making and Slogan Writing competitions, wherein 31 NSS volunteers participated. Prof BD Damral, Director-cum-Principal, Dogra College of Education and Shefali Sharma, Vice Principal threw light on the importance of the day. In Poster Making Competition, Arti Sharma stood first while Nisha Rani and Alka Pathania were declared second and third respectively. However, the consolation prize was bagged by Pooja Devi. In the Slogan writing competition, Arjun Kumar stood first while Sarabjeet Kour and Pallavi Sharma were declared second and third respectively. However, the consolation prizes were bagged by Bandana Choudhary and Shalini Sharma. The Panel of Judges on this occasion included Poonam Gupta, Indu Puri and Sumer Singh, senior lecturers of the college. The programme was conducted under the guidance of Rajni Manhas, Programme Officer, NSS Unit of the college.
NSS volunteers of Adarsh College of Education, Tarore bridge, district Samba organized a Intra-College Slogan Writing Activity related to national Voters Day. AK Kapoor, Chairman, Adarsh Educational Trust was the chief guest, whileas Rahul Kapoor, secretary, Poonam Chib, Principal and other staff members were present on the occasion. In the end, Rahul Kapoor, Secretary presented vote of thanks.
In connection with the National Voters Day, a symposium was organized at Government Boys Higher Secondary School, Udhampur, in which students from various institutions took part. Sunil Sharma, Principal of the host school was the chief guest, who while speaking threw light on the importance of the day. Muneshwar Sharma from the host school, Rahul Kumar from Government City HS Udhampur and Mohammad Raqeeb from Government Higher Secondary School Udhampur secured first, second and third positions respectively. Kamlesh Rani, senior lecturer, Rajni Pathania and Ashok Kumar Sharma, lecturers acted as jury members. Daljit Singh Raina, senior lecturer (staff secretary) and Neeraj Sharma, teacher acted as stage secretaries.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here