National Open Day celebrated at SMVDU

SMVDU Vice-Chancellor with Deans and coordinators of National Open Day event.
SMVDU Vice-Chancellor with Deans and coordinators of National Open Day event.

Excelsior Correspondent

KATRA, Feb 12: Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University organized a day-long first edition of the National Open Day @ SMVDU.
The Open Day was organized by the university to provide a chance to the school and college students to visit and experience the university first hand. The students were provided a vivid and detailed depiction on the courses being offered and on accommodation and other facilities on the campus. More than 250 students belonging to different academic streams, accompanied by their faculty members participated enthusiastically in the event.
Vice Chancellor SMVDU, Prof Pragati Kumar addressed the guest students and faculty. He accentuated the invaluable role of such open day events in decision making for a student’s prospective career. He also assured that the university shall be very soon organizing the second edition of the event.
The Associate Dean, Alumni and International Affairs, Dr Mir Irfan briefed the visiting students the purpose and importance of the event. Prof Balbir Singh, Dean (Academic Affairs) showcased the details of the academic programmes being offered by the university.
Dean, Students Welfare, Prof Raghvendra Mishra gave an insight of the accommodation, cultural, sports and other related facilities provided to the students in the university campus.
In the afternoon session the students visited the various departments of the university, interacted with the faculty and students, inspected and queried on the ongoing research in various labs. They were guided by the NSS volunteers of SMVDU to a tour around the hostels, library and other campus facilities.
Vote of thanks was presented by the Dean, Alumni and International Affairs and coordinator of the event Dr Yugal Khajuria. The event was coordinated by the Coordinator and Co-Coordinators of the event, Dr Ratna Chandra , Dr Shafaq Rasool, Dr Sakshi Arora , Dr Mir Irfan, Dr Ankush Raina, Dr Gautam Narula and Dr Vijay Kumar Sharma.
The participating colleges included GDC Reasi, GDC Udhampur, Women Degree College Udhampur, GCW Parade Jammu, GDC Akhnoor, GDC R S Pura, GDC Paloura among others.