Modi Govt empowered OBCs by extending reservation in PRIs: Kavinder

Kavinder Gupta and other BJP leaders at public meeting by OBC Morcha.
Kavinder Gupta and other BJP leaders at public meeting by OBC Morcha.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Apr 7: Senior BJP leader and former Deputy Chief Minister Kavinder Gupta said that Modi Government empowered OBCs by extending reservation in Panchayats and Local Bodies in Jammu and Kashmir.
He was addressing in a public meeting, organized by BJP OBC Morcha at Mistri Mohalla, Narwal Bala where prominent locals joined the BJP. The program was organised by Raj Kumar Tarkhan(General Secretary OBC Morcha) and supported by Girdhari Lal.
Kavinder Gupta said that the Union Government, led by PM Narendra Modi has brought the weaker sections into mainstream in J&K. Relying on Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas and Sabka Vishwas, Modi Govt has taken many steps for the welfare and development of OBCs by extending 27 percent reservation in admissions in the Central Education Institutes; eg. Kendriya Vidyalayas, Navodaya Vidyalayas as well as Medical and Technical Education Institution and NEET, he said.
Kavinder reiterated that Modi Govt has taken many decisions for welfare of the weaker sections of the society and accordingly taken a decision to implement OBC reservation in J&K by replacing the discriminatory Social Caste ‘OSC’ category.
“Subsequently the Modi Govt taken another big decision for empowering OBCs of J&K by extending reservation to OBCs in Panchayats and Urban Local Body elections, which was available under Panchayati Raj System but the previous Govts denied the same to OBCs,” he said and reminded that previous Govts denied reservation under OBC category and granted mere 2 percent reservation under OSC category thus rendering OBC as ineligible for reservation in Panchayats and Municipality elections.
Vikram Randhawa (former MLC), Rajeev Charak (Prabhari District Jammu), Rashpal Verma (National Secretary OBC Morcha), Sunil Prajapati (State President OBC Morcha), Rekha Mahajan (District President Jammu), Pushpinder Singh (District General Secretary (Jammu South), Lucky Puri (Mandal President), Indu Puri (Media Secretary, Mahila Morcha), Rafiq Ahmed (District President ST Morcha), Subhash Anand (Treasurer OBC Morcha), Bal Krishan (Social Media Incharge OBC Morcha), Liaqat Malik, Puttu Chowdhary and other workers were present on the occasion.