MHA clears Central deputation of two IPS officers, relieves 3

ADGP, DIG return; DIG, SSP to leave JK, Ladakh

4 JKPS officers to be promoted as DIGs on induction

Sanjeev Pargal
JAMMU, Sept 18: The Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) is understood to have cleared deputation of two senior IPS officers of AGMUT (Arunachal Pradesh Goa Mizoram Union Territories) cadre, presently posted in Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh and deputation of another senior officer is awaiting clearance while it has returned two IPS officers including one in the rank of Additional Director General of Police (ADGP) and posted another in the Union Territory of J&K.
After issuance of final notification of induction of 28 Jammu and Kashmir Police Services (JKPS) officers into the IPS, 14 serving and 14 retired, the Government of J&K proposed to promote four of them to the rank of DIG as they are being allotted 2008 batch, whose officers are already in the same rank.
Official sources told the Excelsior that the MHA has given nod to the Central deputation of Amit Kumar, DIG Central Kashmir Range and he is likely to be posted in the prestigious organization of Central Bureau of Investigations (CBI) in view of his experience and reputation. Kumar, who is 2006 batch IPS officer of then Jammu and Kashmir cadre which has now been merged into AGMUT and is son of the soil, was seriously injured while leading operation against the militants post Pulwama attack in 2019 in which 40 CRPF personnel were martyred.
The MHA is also reported to have cleared the Central deputation of Rajiv Omprakash Pandey, an IPS officer of 2010 batch of erstwhile J&K cadre, who is presently posted as SSP Leh. Prior to his posting in Leh, Pandey had served as district police chief of Poonch and Udhampur.
Pandey might be posted in the Enforcement Directorate.
“Another senior IPS officer has also applied for the Central deputation which hasn’t been cleared so far,” sources pointed out.
Besides, the Union Home Ministry has relieved two IPS officers of erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir cadre from the Central deputation.
They including Sunil Kumar, Additional DGP, who was on deputation to the Border Security Force (BSF) and is 1996 batch IPS officer of previous J&K cadre. It has also returned Sunil Gupta, a 2007 batch IPS officer in the rank of DIG, who was also on deputation with the Central Government. Gupta has joined back at the Police Headquarters.
A new IPS officer Gaurav Sikarwar of 2019 batch of AGMUT cadre has also been posted in Jammu and Kashmir, sources said.
Meanwhile, according to sources, the MHA is likely to issue formal order for induction of 28 JKPS officers into IPS anytime now as all formalities for the purpose from the Union Public Services Commission (UPSC), Jammu and Kashmir Government and the Home Ministry have been completed.
Those being inducted into IPS include 14 serving JKPS officers of 1999 batch and 14 retired officers.
According to sources, four JKPS officers after their induction into IPS are likely to get 2008 batch and they will have to be promoted as DIG from the present posting of SSP as IPS officers of the same batch are already working as DIGs.
Four JKPS officers who are likely to get 2008 batch of IPS include Shakti Pathak, Director Special Security Force (SSF), Dr Mohammad Haseeb Mughal, SSP Police Control Room (PCR) Jammu, Javid Ahmad Koul and Sheikh Junaid Mehmood. Ramesh Kumar Bhat, who figures at S No. 4 in the seniority list hasn’t been inducted into the IPS pending an inquiry against him.
Three IPS officers of 2008 batch who have already been elevated as DIGs include Tejinder Singh, Abdul Jabbar and Udaybhaskar Billa. Among them, Tejinder Singh is on deputation to the National Investigation Agency (NIA).