Latti people demand College, Fire Station

Excelsior Correspondent

UDHAMPUR, May 25: The members of Latti Development Committee (LDC) have demanded setting up of a Government Degree College and a Fire Station at Latti Tehsil headquarters of Dudu Sub Division in Udhampur district.
The members of the LDC in a meeting held at Latti under the chairmanship of Kasturi Lal Gupta today, expressed serious concern over the delaying tactics being adopted by the J&K administration in providing a Degree College at remote Latti Tehsil of Dudu, besides a Fire and Emergecy Services Station.
While addressing the meeting Gupta, who is also Sarpanch of the area, said that nearly 117 kanals of State land for the Degree College, near Latti Pul has already been identified and the detailed file stand submitted to the Higher Education Department through the then Deputy Commissioner, Udhampur over three years ago.
“It is surprising that setting aside the standing Govt norms and rules, a Govt Degree College in just four-five rooms with less than 10 marla of land has been established in Basantgarh area but Latti College, where five feeding Higher Secondary Schools exist and more than 99 kanals of land is being provided, the authorities were adopting delaying tactics,” he asserted.
The Committee chairman further said that many incidents of fire took place in Latti and Dudu area in the recent past and property worth crores of the public was destroyed. He said Chenani fire station is about 55 kms away from Latti and the road condition is also worst ahead of Maantalai. He said the land in the old government school has already been identified for the fire station and file has been submitted to the Govt for setting up of Fire station at Tehsil Latti, having thick population but the demand has not been addressed so far, he added.
The LDC sought the intervention of Lt Governor Manoj Sinha and Chief Secretary, Atal Dulloo into the matter. Others present in the meeting include-Krishan Lal Gupta, Master Khalid Hussain, Raj Kumar, Abdul Rashid Malik, Kuldip Raj, Mohd Rafiq and others.