KPS takes serious exception to Farooq’s statement

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Mar 23: A meeting of the Kashmiri Pandit Sabha Jammu was held under the chairmanship of its President K. K. Khosa in which the members have taken serious exception to the statement of NC chief, Dr Farooq Abdullah while replying to pointed questions in an interview to  the popular TV channel India Today that the much acclaimed motion picture “The Kashmir files” is nothing but a bunch of lies and a purely propaganda material created to malign the Kashmiri Muslims in general and the National Conference Government of the time in particular when the exodus of Kashmiri Pandits took place pursuant to their genocide in the year 1989- 1990. Sabha said his vehement argument that he had resigned as Chief Minister on January 18, 1990 and that Jagmohan was at the helm of affairs as the Governor is a poor attempt at trying to pass on the buck to the then GOI led by V P Singh and Governor, Jagmohan as against his own culpability in the entire sordid affair.
It said he tries to conveniently escape from his own dubious role as Chief Minister from 1987 to January 1990 during which period targeted killings of the Kashmiri Pandits and others had already begun leading to the exodus of the entire community of KPs to Jammu and beyond. His own malicious decision of releasing 75 terrorists that gave a spurt to the growth of terrorism is an unpardonable act for which he has to be held accountable.
His demand for constituting a Truth and Reconciliation Commission is an oft repeated ruse to try and deviate from his failure as Chief Minister and also his perceived complicity in the rise of terrorism that led to ouster of lacs of Kashmiri Pandits, Sabha added. What had prevented the National Conference Government led by him from 1996 to 2002 and then the Omer Abdullah Government from 2009 to 2014 from constituting such a Truth and Reconciliation Commission, Sabha asked?
Those who participated in the meeting were J. L. Zutshi, S. L. Bagati, Ashok Khar, Subash Dhar, Deepak Dhar, Dr. Usha Tickoo, Anil Wakhloo, . B. L. Rawal and Jitender Parimoo.