KPs integral part of Kashmir society: Altaf Bukhari

Apni Party president, Altaf Bukhari along with new entrants at a joining function in Jammu on Monday.
Apni Party president, Altaf Bukhari along with new entrants at a joining function in Jammu on Monday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, July 4: Apni Party president, Altaf Bukhari has said that Kashmiri Pandit community is an inseparable and integral part of Kashmir society.
Addressing a gathering at joining programme at Party office in Gandhi Nagar, Jammu today, Bukhari said that the joining by people from different sections was a big success for the party and it would help the party to expand its roots in the society.
While lauding the joining, he said that the Kashmiri Pandit community is part and parcel of Kashmir society and the circumstances under which they left Kashmir valley is history now. He admitted that the exodus of the KP’s was a tragedy which had torn the fabric of social harmony which needed to be restored.
“Kashmiri Pandits are intellectuals and they have an important role to play in the society. Without their participation, Kashmiri society is incomplete and hence, the Apni Party is committed to continue its struggle for the return and rehabilitation of Kashmiri Pandits,” he said.
He assured that the issues of the Kashmiri Pandits would be highlighted and resolved on priority basis by the Apni Party. “The relation between Kashmiri Pandits and Kashmiri Muslims will be strengthened with the joining of prominent people, social and political activists,” he hoped.
About 18 prominent people, intellectuals, National Conference and PDP leaders joined Apni Party in presence of Altaf Bukhari at party office Gandhinagar today.
Those who joined the Apni Party included Somnath Dhar, Mohan Lal Bhat, Bansi Lal Pandita, Dawarka Nath Pandita, Chaman Lal Koul, Bituji Bhat, Chander Peshan, Ramesh Koul, Raj Nath Hangloo and others.
The programme was organized by party leader, Abhay Vakaya and attended by senior leaders Ghulam Hassan Mir, Choudhary Zulfikar Ali, Vijay Bakaya, Manjit Singh and others.