JKTJAC highlights issues, demands of teaching fraternity

Excelsior Correspondent
UDHAMPUR, Aug 6: Monthly meeting of Jammu Kashmir Teachers’ Joint Action Committee (JKTJAC) was held here today under the leadership of UT President Vinod Sharma and District President Lekh Raj Parihar. The meeting was attended by the JKTJAC representatives from all the eleven zones of the district.
While speaking on the occasion, Vinod Sharma highlighted the burning issues of the teaching fraternity and appealed LG and Principal Secretary School Education Department to resolve the same.
Highlighting the burning demand of transfer policy for teachers appointed under ReT scheme, he demanded the provision of comprehensive transfer policy in their favour as these teachers have been working in the same schools for last more than 20 years even after the clear directions from High Court and CAT . He said that in absence of Transfer policy, thousands of these teachers including females are suffering badly.
He also demanded regularisation of ReTs, who have completed 5 years ReT period, conversion of PRETs to Teachers Grade II/III, rationalisation of teachers in transparent manner and posting of at least two teachers in every Primary school.
Other demands highlighted on the occasion included; conversion of EVs to ReTs, conversion of Headteachers posts into non plan posts of Masters to resolve the salary issue of the masters; raising Grade of teachers at par with their counter parts in other UTs; filling up of vacant posts of CEOs / Principals/ZEOs/Headmasters; , DPC of more Teachers to Masters as only about 500 teachers have been promoted as Masters in last 9 years, settlement of GP fund ( refundable and non refundable ) cases of teaching and non teaching staff of Education Department which are lying in different treasuries due to non availability of cash.
On the occasion, Lekh Raj Parihar demanded the release of MDM dues which the teachers have managed from their own pockets
Others, who also spoke on the occasion, included Sham Sharma, Pritam Goswami, Chain Singh, Ravinder Singh Rathore, Shamsher Singh, Suresh Sharma, Sandeep Sharma, Vijay Sadhotra, Ranjit Singh, Khazan Singh, Puma Chand, Sham Singh, Amit Gupta, Manoj Sharma, Pankaj Thakur, Anuradha Kumari, Raj Pathania, Ashok Kumar, Som Raj Sharma, Parveen Singh, Parshant Sharma, Jai Parkash, Amar Dev Singh, Madan Lal, Vabal Singh, Sunil Verma and others.