JKBOSE notifies adoption of UAC, identifies 57 ‘hard zones’ in 12 distts

309 schools in Jammu; 135 in Valley to see annual exams in Apr

Irfan Tramboo

SRINAGAR, Oct 2: The J&K Board of School Education (JKBOSE) has issued a notification regarding the adoption of the Uniform Academic Calendar (UAC) in the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir and has identified 444 schools falling in 57 ‘hard zones’ across J&K.
These schools fall in the hard zones, areas of 12 districts of J&K where the annual examinations will be held in April while in other areas, the annual examinations will be held in March under the UAC.
As per the details, in Kashmir valley, these schools fall in 5 districts which include Anantnag, Bandipora, Kupwara, Kulgam and Budgam while in the Jammu division, schools categorized in ‘hard zones’ fall in 7 districts which include, Kishtwar, Reasi, Rajouri, Poonch, Doda, Ramban and Udhampur.
In Kashmir’s Anantnag district 43 such schools will go for the annual examination in April and these schools fall in the zone Ashmuqam, Bidder, Bijbehara, Dooro, Mattan, Qazigund, Shangus, Vailoo, and Verinag. In Bandipora where there are 19 such schools and all of them fall in the Gurez zone. In Kupwara, 32 such institutions fall in the zones such as Chamkote, Khumriyal, Kralpora, Tangdhar and Trehgam.
Similarly, in Kulgam, there are 28 such schools that fall in the zones which include D.H.Pora, Devsar and Kulgam. In Budgam 13 such schools fall in the zone Chadoora, Chrar-e-Sharief, Khansahib, Nagam and Khag.
In Jammu Division’s Kishtwar district, the authorities have identified 50 institutions that are going to have their annual examination in April and fall in the zone Warwan, Marwah, Paddar, Drabshalla, Inderwal and Kishtwar. District Reasi has 47 such institutions in the zone Arnas, Chassana, Mahore and Reasi. District Rajouri has 7 such schools in zone Koteranka. District Poonch has 20 such institutions in zone Sathra, Mandi, Surankote and Bufliaz.
Similarly, in district Doda, there are 56 such institutions in the zones like Bhatyas, Thathri, Gundna, Ghat, Bhagwah, Assar, Doda, Bhallesa, and Bhaderwah. District Ramban, at the same time, has 64 such schools in zones which include Banihal, Batote, Gool, Khari, Ramban and Ukhral. Lastly, in district Udhampur, the JKBOSE has identified 65 such intuitions in zones such as Pancheri, Chenani, Ghordi, Dudu and Kulwanta.
As per the notification issued, JKBOSE said that the Uniform Academic Calendar has been adopted in the Union Territory of J&K from the current academic session and various public examinations held by the JKBOSE shall now be conducted uniformly across J&K and the Union Territory of Ladakh as per one schedule.
It said that the Annual Regular Examinations held by the JKBOSE of classes 10th, 11th and 12th shall be held in March in both the Divisions of Union Territory of J&K-Kashmir Division and Jammu Division-and the Union Territory of Ladakh, it noted, excluding Hard Zones/Areas.
The details stated that the Annual Regular Examination of hard zones/ areas of Union territory of J&K Union Territory of Ladakh shall be held in April while as the Result of Annual (Regular) examination of Kashmir Division and Jammu Division/ Union Territory of Ladakh including hard zones/areas shall be declared simultaneously in June.
Concerning the Annual (Private)/ Bi-Annual examination in Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir/ Union Territory of Ladakh, the same, it has been given out, shall be held in August and its result shall be declared in October. At the same time, the JKBOSE has also issued dates for the submission of Examination Forms, the conduct of examination, and declaration of results as per the UAC.