J&K unit of All India Backward Classes Federation constituted

Newly elected office bearers of AIBCF at a meeting in Jammu.
Newly elected office bearers of AIBCF at a meeting in Jammu.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Jan 13: A general body meeting of All J&K OBC Joint Action Committee was held today under the chairmanship of FC Satia in which it was unanimously decided to merge the All J&K OBC Joint Action Committee (JKOBCJAC) into the All India Backward Classes Federation headed by Justice V. Eshwaraiah, former chairperson of the National Commission for Backward Classes.
The decision was taken after detailed discussion with National leaders of the Federation, Hans Raj Jangid and Pritam Chand Bhardwaj at Jammu.
FC Satia was unanimously declared as president of the Jammu unit Federation, Balwant Kataria general secretary, Sunil Kumar Prajapati- secretary, Prof BL Bhardwaj, Madan Lal Baldotra, Kewal Fotra and Raj Kumar Chalotra as vice presidents, O.P Kataria and Mohan Lal Katal as joint secretaries, Dr Nek Ram Prajapati- treasurer.
Eleven Executive members were also nominated. They are- Mohd Shabeer (Dhobi) , Girdhari Lal (Sansi), Adnan Khan ( Teli), Chaman Panthi (Jeewar), Rajinder Sikka (Barber), Mukhtyar Kalia (Bazigar), Mehar Singh (Labana), Master Kartar Singh (Prajapati), Sumitra Devi (Bouria) Capt Ramesh Lal (Prajapati) and Mohd Shafi (Kumhar).
The committee shall visit Poonch, Reasi, Udhampur, Ram Nagar, Billawar, Bani, Basohli, Kathua, Ramban, Doda, Samba, Kishtwar and all districts of Kashmir valley to mobilize the OBC people. The State Body of the AIBC Federation shall be expanded further, a Federation spokesman said.
Satia pleaded that there is dire need to review the reservation to OBC people in J&K. He said the reservation quota of actual OBCs was mischievously diverted to Backward Area under the influence of political monopoly of Kashimri leaders misusing the Article 370. He said that OBC reservation should be at par with other Union Territories of India i.e 27% or above and it should be based on Mandal Commission report.