Install statue of Banda Singh Bahadur without delay: Forum

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 22: All J&K 1947 PoJK Sharnarthi Intellectual Forum convened its Core Committee meeting which was presiding over by Amrik Singh and was among others addressed by Surjit Singh its general secretary along with other prominent persons.
The Forum expressed resentment over the delay of installation of Baba Banda Singh Bahadur’s statute at Kunjwani Chowk for which a resolution was passed by Jammu Municipal Corporation (JMC) that was moved by Inder Singh, Corporator of W.No. 44. The Forum elaborated that when the constituent elected house of JMC passed the resolution it automatically became the law within the Municipal limits and its delay shall be considered as the violation of the democratic process.
The Forum further reiterated that Banda Singh Bhadur’s name should not be linked with any individual community, as he was a warrior and God fearing General who conquered Sirhind and took the revenge of Guru Govind Singh Ji’s younger Sahebzade and other innocent Hindus and Sikhs. Banda Singh Bahadur after killing of Wajid Khan conquered Suba of Punjab, Sirhind and became the first emperor of Khalsa Raj.
The Forum announced with proud that it was pride for the J&K people that a person belonging to our motherland defeated the Mughal ruler and became the first king of Punjab.
The Forum said he was such a brave General that he uprooted the Mughal emperor and upgraded the image of country as well as of J&K State.
The Forum urged upon the UT administration to accord the sanction of Baba Banda Singh Bahadur Statute installation at the earliest.
It also welcomed the nomination of Ghulam Ali Khatana to Rajya Sabha and demanded that the representation be given other minorities of the UT of J&K.
The meeting was attended by Inder Singh Sudan corporator Sucha Singh corporator, Paramjit Singh ex.corporator, H.S Sudan ex Group. Captain, Kuldeep Singh. vice president, Nasib Singh, Prof. K.D Singh, Jagit Singh, publicity secretary, Kuldeep Singh Kuku, Paramjit Singh Shingari, Khazan Singh, Manjit Singh, Dara Singh, Sudesh Sharma, Parshotam Lal, Ghanysham Sharma, Mela Ram Bhagat, Rajesh Sharma, Vaishno Charan Singh, Manjit Singh and others.