In a first, MHA inducts 27 JKPS officers into IPS in one go

4 dropped, one excluded after order, 2 to retire in 2023

Inductees get J&K in AGMUT cadre

Sanjeev Pargal
JAMMU, Sept 29: For the first time in the history of Jammu and Kashmir, 27 Jammu and Kashmir Police Services (JKPS) officers were inducted into Indian Police Services (IPS) in one go by the Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) and five of them will be eligible for promotion as DIGs on January 1, 2024.
Minutes after issuing an order for induction of 28 officers into IPS, the MHA came out with a clarification dropping Anil Kumar Magotra from the list on the ground that he has already superannuated reducing number of inductions to 27.
Four officers have been dropped from induction-three on ground of enquiries pending against them and another for his unwillingness while two of the inducted officers will be retiring this year, one of them tomorrow and another in December.
“Three retirements (one already and two this year) and four dropped cases are likely to result into seven vacancies for induction of JKPS officers into IPS besides others which are created every year,” officials told the Excelsior.
Manohar Singh, who has retired from the services, RK Bhat and Zubair Khan, serving SSPs have been dropped from the list in view of enquiries against them and their fate remained sealed in secret cover. Suhail Munawwar Mir has not given his consent for the induction.
A total of 32 JKPS officers were cleared for induction into IPS in July this year at a high-level meeting of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), MHA and Jammu and Kashmir Government.
The MHA today finally cleared 28 JKPS officers for induction into IPS. However, the MHA issued clarification dropping Anil Kumar Magotra on the ground that he has superannuated reducing number of inductions to 27.
Besides, the officials said, Ashok Kumar Badwal and Firdous Iqbal, who have been inducted into IPS, will retire on September 30 and December 31 respectively this year, leading to two more vacancies.
Five JKPS officers who made it to the IPS in Select List 2015 include Maqsood-ul-Zaman, Mubassir Latifi Ameer, Shiv Kumar Sharma, Rashmi Wazir and Rajeshwar Singh.
As per the officials, they are likely to get 2011 as year of allotment and will become eligible for promotion as DIGs on January 1, 2024. The Government can, however, promote the officers as DIGs even earlier due to vacancies.
Four JKPS officers who were selected into IPS in Select List 2016 are Sandeep Wazir, Anita Sharma, Sameer Rekhi and Jatinder Singh Johar. They are expected to get 2012 batch of IPS and will also be eligible for elevation as DIGs on January 1, 2025 but the Government can order promotions earlier, again because of the vacancies.
Select List 2017 have the officers including Anil Kumar Magotra, Swarn Singh Kotwal, Zahid Nasim Manhas, Dr Koshal Kumar Sharma and Ashok Kumar Badwal. Name of Magotra was later dropped. These officers are likely to get 2013 batch.
Seven officers whose names figured in Select List 2018 are Showket Ahmed Dar, Altaf Ahmed Shah, Bakar Hussain Samoon, Firdous Iqbal, Ajaz Ahmad Bhat, Ranjit Singh Samyal and Mohammad Yaseen Kichloo. The officers might get 2014 batch.
Four JKPS officers who were selected against Select List 2019 include Rajinder Kumar Gupta, Rajesh Kumar Sharma, Sanjeev Kumar Khajuria and Rajesh Bali.
Three officers in the Select List 2020 include Sanjay Kumar, Mumtaz Ahmed and Mohammad Aslam.
An MHA order said the President has inducted JKPS officers into IPS on probation and allocated them Jammu and Kashmir under AGMUT cadre.
They will remain on probation for one year and will obtain induction training as per IPS (Probation) Rules, the MHA order said, adding the appointment will take effect from the date of issuance of notification.