HC grants time to Govt for establishing JJBs

Excelsior Correspondent

Srinagar, Nov 15:  High Court today granted time to Government with regard to decisions taken for establishment of Juvenile Justice Boards, Child Welfare Committees across the state as the Court has been informed that the Government is taking steps for it.
The Division Bench of Justice Ramalingam Sudhakar and Justice Ali Mohammad Magrey granted further time to State Government as the State Counsel M I Dar (AAG) submitted before the Court that Government is going on right direction about the implementation of JJ Act and court directions passed in this regard.
Government has decided to constitute JJBs in all the 22 districts in a phased manner and in the first phase 8 JJBs are being set up for district Anantnag, Baramulla and Srinagar in Kashmir province and Jammu, Doda, Rajouri in Jammu province. Apart from this two JJBs are to be setup one each at Kargil and Leh in Ladakh region.
It is pertinent to mention here that in its previous order Court had observed that the JJBs were to be setup in all the 22 districts of the State which are to be headed by Judicial Magistrates (1st Class) as per the Act and Rules and consequently there was a need for creation of 22 additional posts of Additional Judicial Magistrates so that the other judicial work is not affected.
For taking decision to constitute these 8 JJBs responsibilities have been fixed on the Commissioners of SWD, Finance and Law Department and the dead line has been fixed for the purpose is December 31.
Draft of minutes reveal that along with the establishment of 8 JJBs in the first phase, 8 observation homes are also to be established for these 8 district for which responsibility has been fixed on Commissioner/Secretary SWD and deadline fixed is also December 31.
It has also been decided to set up Child Welfare Committees which, the Court has already said, is mandate of the law in all the 22 districts.
The same, however, would also be done in the phased manner and be constituted in the 8 districts in the first instance and the dead line fixed for the purpose is December 31.
Government has to clarify and inform the Court as to which of the group of districts are covered by these 8 JJBs and the 8 CWCs which are to be established as per the decision taken in Chief Secretary’s meeting.
Two special homes are also being set up as part of the first phase, one at Jammu and the other at Srinagar and this job has been fixed on Commissioner SWD and the same has to be done by December 31.
Decision has also been taken to upgrade the orphanages & DPRs for up-gradation of all the 31 orphanages are to be finalized and submitted to Planning Development and Monitoring Department and this has also been assigned to Commissioner/ Secretary SWD and Principal Secretary to PD& MD.