Glowing tributes paid to Sheikh Nazir on 1st death anniversary

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 24: Glowing tributes were paid to Sheikh Nazir Ahmed, former general secretary, Jammu and Kashmir National Conference at Sher-e-Kashmir Bhavan, on his first death anniversary today with leaders dwelling on different facets of his illustrious life.
Floral tributes were paid to the late leader and all religious prayers held for eternal peace to the departed soul.
Leaders those who paid their homage to Sheikh Nazir, senior NC State vice president, Surjeet Singh Slathia recalled the contribution of the late leader in strengthening NC in Kashmir, Jammu and Ladakh, and making it a vibrant force.
“Sheikh Nazir remained connected with the cadre, especially the grass roots level workers till his last”, Slathia said, adding that he used to treat the party as his family. He said the best tribute to the former general secretary is to carry forward his mission of making NC a force to reckon with.
In his poetic tribute to the Sheikh Nazir, State vice president, Kashmira Singh, said that service to the people remained focal point of his life. He said the late leader remained steadfast in his commitment to the party and worked for ameliorating the lot of the people.
Former Minister, Abdul Gani Malik, while paying tribute, described Sheikh Nazir as a visionary leader who groomed the young leaders and workers to play their useful role in taking J&K to pinnacles of progress and development.
State secretary, Rachpal Singh, former MLCs, Mohammed Yousaf Teng and Vijay Bakaya, provincial secretary, Sheikh Bashir, former minister, Babu Rampal, Provincial Youth National Conference president, Ajaz Jan and district president, Ramban, Sajjad Shaheen also paid tributes to Sheikh Nazir.
Two minutes silence was observed for the peace of the departed soul.
Prominent among those present on the occasion include former MP, Sheikh Abdul Rehman, former Legislators—Abdul Wahid Shan, Satpal Lakhotra, Bimla Luthra, Brij Mohan Sharma, Bushan Lal Bhat, Depender Kour besides Satwant Kour Dogra, Anil Dhar, Pradeep Bali, Dharamveer Singh Jamwal, and SS Bunty.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here