Four new SC judges to take oath of office today

NEW DELHI, May 23:
Four new judges of the Supreme Court will take oath of office tomorrow, raising their number to 31, the full sanctioned strength.
As per a circular issued by the Apex Court, Justices B R Gavai, Surya Kant, Aniruddha Bose and A S Bopanna will be administered oath of office by Chief Justice of India Ranjan Gogoi at 10.30 am on Friday in court number one of the Supreme Court.
The Apex Court will have its full strength of judges for the first time since 2008 when Parliament had increased the number of judges from 26 to 31.
As of now, the apex court is functioning with 27 judges, including the CJI.
On Wednesday, President Ram Nath Kovind had issued warrants of appointment of Justices Gavai, Surya Kant, Bose and Bopanna as apex court judges.
The names of Justices Bose and Bopanna were earlier returned by the Centre to the Supreme Court collegium citing seniority and representation of regions as the reasons.
In its May 8 resolution, the five-member collegium had reiterated its recommendation to elevate Justices Bose and Bopanna, observing that nothing adverse has been found regarding their competence, conduct or integrity.
The collegium, headed by the CJI, had on May 8 also recommended the names of Justices Gavai and Surya Kant for elevation to the Apex Court.(PTI)