DGPCs should conduct regular audit for transparency: Wazir

SGPB chairman, TS Wazir addressing press conference in Jammu on Monday. -Excelsior/Rakesh
SGPB chairman, TS Wazir addressing press conference in Jammu on Monday. -Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, July 13: Chairman, J&K Gurdwara Parbandhak Board (JKGPB) Tarlochan Singh Wazir has extended gratitude to the Jathedar of Shri Ajkal Takhat Sahib, Giani Harpreet Singh, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, president Shrimani Akali Dal Sukhbir Singh Badal and SGPC (Amritsar) chief, Gobind Singh Longowal for ensuring extension to the democratically elected District Gurdwara Parbandhak Committees (DGPCs) in the Jammu and Kashm in wake of Covid-19.
Talking to media persons here today, Wazir extended his gratitude to all the above leaders and also Manjinder Singh Sirsa, State Gurdwara Management Committee, Delhi for their role in ensuring extension to all the DGPCs in J&K as the elections under such circustamces of Corona virus threat were not passible.
Wazir, who was flanked by DGPC Jammu and other members from SAD (B), Sikh Welfare Front, AISSF J&K, Sikh Naujawan Sabha and other local Gurdwara committees disclosed that visionary and logical stand taken by Jathedar Sri Akal Takhat Sahib endorsing the aspirations of of Sikh community in J&K has paved the way for continuation of democratically elected DGPCs , till the fresh elections are held in wake of Covid-19.
Chairman JKGPB further said that he had written to all the DGPCs in J&K to ensure their regular audit conducted by concered Government agency for transparency and accountability. He claimed that soon a panel of legal experts and inllectuals from the community will be constituted to prepare the draft for the possible necessary amendment in J&K Gurdwara Act as per the wishes and aspirations of the Sikh community in J&K.
Prominent among others who accompanied Wazir included, Jathedar Mohinder Singh, president SAD (B) J&K, Jagjeet Singh president DGPC Jammu, Charanjeet Singh DGPC chief Kathua, Kulwant Singh DGPC head from Samba, Satwanider Singh DGPC president Udhampur, Bhpionder Singh DGPC chief Rajouri, Avtar Singh Khalsa, Fatesh Singh and others.