Delphic Council organizes Dogri folk music event

Artists giving their performance during Dogri folk music event by Delphic Council of J&K.
Artists giving their performance during Dogri folk music event by Delphic Council of J&K.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Nov 19: To mark the first art and culture event after formation of Delphic Council in J&K, a mesmerizing cultural programme manifesting Dogri folk music was held here today, in which eminent Dogri singers participated and enthralled the audience.
In the function, Sham Lal Sharma, former Minister of J&K State graced the event as chief guest whereas Suraj Singh Bhou, Vice Chairman, DDC, Jammu; Dr Karnail Singh, Commandant Medical Frontier Hqrs Paloura, Jammu and Mohan Lal Bhagat, SSP were the guests of honour.
Addressing the audience, Sham Lal Sharma hoped that formation of Delphic Council shall prove as harbinger of optimism for majority of artists and art-lovers in Jammu and Kashmir aspiring to showcase their talent, especially those belonging to far-flung areas of J&K-UT who need immediate help of Delphic Council platform to display their talents.
Earlier, Er Ashok Singh, President, Delphic Council of J&K, apprised that the Council has been formed with the mandate by Indian Delphic Council which will spearhead the movement of arts and cultures in J&K.
He further said that the main thrust of JK Delphic Council is to promote peace and harmony amongst the people and reach out to Panchayat, Block, Tehsil, District and Union Territory levels involving artists belonging to six disciplines of Art forms.
He informed that special attraction of today’s cultural bonanza is the visiting team of filmmakers from Mumbai on the call of Delphic Council of J&K who were also present in the event. The visiting team of filmmakers would be visiting different parts of J&K to videograph and catch significant glimpses of art and culture from different districts and spots, he added.
The names of Singers and Instrumentalists, who performed, were Tilak Raj Tagotra, Bishan Dass, Asha Kesar, Rao Brothers, Santosh Bandral, Mamta Mehra, Suman Lata, Antu Kowal, Rakesh Anand, Joginder Pal and Chandan Jassu, Girdhari Lal Sharma and Akashvi. The programme was anchored by Lalita Sharma and vote of thanks was presented by Narinder Nath Thussu, Treasurer of the Delphic Council of JK.