De-recognise, withdraw symbols of parties boycotting elections: BJP

BJP leaders at a press conference at Jammu on Saturday.
BJP leaders at a press conference at Jammu on Saturday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 29: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has urged Chief Electoral Officer, J&K for de-recognition of those political parties of Jammu and Kashmir State which have announced   boycott of Panchayat and Urban Local Bodies’ elections.
In a press conference held at party Headquarters, Brig (retd) Anil Gupta, State spokesperson briefed media persons that National Conference (NC), People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Communist Party Marxist (CPM) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are State and national level recognised political parties with reserved election symbols. These parties are mandated to participate and contest in all elections as per Section 29A (5) of Representation of People Act 1951. Elections are the core of democratic process and provide opportunity to people to express their will, added Brig. Gupta.
By boycotting the elections, these political parties have not only betrayed the people of Jammu & Kashmir but also disrespected the Constitution of India which they had pledged to safeguard while applying for recognition of their respective political parties, accused Brig Gupta. “By not participating in the election process these parties are violating the Section 29 A [5] and 29 A [7] of Representation of People Act 1951 and Election Symbol Order 1968 and thus they are liable to be de-recognised and their election symbols frozen, he added.
A precedence exists wherein Election Commission of India has in the past de-recognised a few political parties,” claimed the spokesperson.
Media persons were also informed that a petition has already been filed by Adv. Hunar Gupta, State convener, Human Rights Cell of the party since the suppression of democratic process by these parties also amounts to gross violation of human rights. Adv. Hunar Gupta along with State spokesperson, Balbir Ram Rattan were also present in the press conference.
BJP has urged the CEO to immediately take up the issue with Election Commission of India to derecognise NC, PDP, BSP and CPM and freeze their election symbols since they have violated sections 29A (5) and 29A (7) of Representation of People Act and Election Symbol Order 1968.