Daily rated workers stage protest demonstration

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Apr 10: The daily rated workers from PDD, PHE, I&FC, R&B, Forest and Education Departments held protest demonstration in support of their demands here today.
A large number of workers under the banner of J&K Daily Wagers Joint Action Forum, assembled near Press Club and held demonstration. Forum leaders Gurnam Singh Slathia, Rajan Sharma, Kamal Verma, Swarn Kumar, Surjeet Khajuria, Kuldip Sharma and Subash Chander were leading. They criticized the Government for its anti-worker policy.
All the members present expressed serious concern over the indifferent attitude of the State Government which has miserably failed to frame policy for regularization of daily rated workers for about two decades. They said the Government reached the agreement with the JCC members 19-2-2009, 14-5-2010 and then on 15-09-2011 but did not bother to implement the same. They pointed out that Government representatives including Chief Secretary, Chief Minister’s political advisor Devinder Singh Rana, Principal secretary to CM, Pr Secy Home and Commissioner Secretary GAD during meeting with the JCC members on 15-9-2011 at Srinagar had assured to announce the regularization policy before March 2012 but unfortunately, they have breached the agreement. The employees have no trust in the agreements of the Government and they have now resolved to go for intensified agitation. They said the Government has been forcing the workers to adopt the path of confrontation. The daily wagers are also demanding Rs 250 per day and regular payment of their wages besides regularization of all the workers who have completed seven years in service. The Forum announced strong protest and ‘kam chhor Hartal’ on April 17. The employees will conduct gherao of the Civil Secretariat on this day, a Forum leader claimed.
Some senior JCC members also visited the agitating daily rated workers and assured full support. They included R A Khaniyari, Ram Kumar, Parshotam Sharma, Amrik Singh, Mohd Aslam, Balwan Singh, Madan Sangral, Kulwant Singh, Yashpal and others.