CVC forms panel for scrutiny of prosecution sanctions

NEW DELHI, July 3:
The Central Vigilance Commission has formed a nine-member committee of experts to review pending cases referred to it by the CBI for sanction of prosecution.
The experts are A K Jain, retired IAS officer and former secretary, Department of Disinvestment, Vivek Mehrotra, retired IAS officer and former secretary Ministry of Minority Affairs, V S Jain, ex chairman, SAIL and three former IPS officers Uday Shankar Dutt, Balwinder Singh and R N Ravi.
Besides them, Prakash Chandra, former IRS, the then chairman of Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), D L Rawal, for Chairman and Managing Director of Dena Bank and M Venugopalan, former CMD, Bank of India have been chosen as experts for the committee.
“Depending upon the nature of the case, a committee consisting of three members including the chairperson (i.E. Vigilance Commissioner) shall examine the CBI recommendation and the tentative views of the Ministry or Department concerned in greater detail.
“Two members of the Committee would be drawn from the panel of experts and one of the Vigilance Commissioners in the Commission would chair the meeting,” the Commission said in its order.
In view of the expert committee’s recommendation, the CVC would render appropriate advice to the competent authority within 15 days of the meeting, it said.
The tenure of the panel of experts would be for a period of two years from July 1, 2012.
The CVC tenders advice in respect of officers coming under its jurisdiction against whom the Central Bureau of Investigation, after probing the case, has recommended sanction for prosecution.
“On a few occasions, where the Commission has in agreement with the CBI’s recommendations, advised sanction for prosecution against a public servant, the disciplinary authority, in disagreement with the CBI’s recommendations approaches the Commission for reconsideration of its advice.
“A Committee under the chairmanship of a Vigilance Commissioner along with two experts from the panel takes a final view on the case,” the official said explaining the procedure.
The experts are entitled for an honorarium of Rs 3,000 per day besides fare, transport and accommodation.
The probity watchdog is headed by Pradeep Kumar whereas R Srikumar and J M Garg are the Vigilance Commissioners. (PTI)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here