CSC directs DCs for demarcation of new units within 2 months

Sanjeev Pargal
JAMMU, Feb 3: The Cabinet Sub Committee (CSC) on creation of new units has directed all Deputy Commissioners in 22 districts of the State to carry out demarcation of newly proposed 659 administrative units within a period of two months.
“The Deputy Commissioners would ensure that the newly created units are operationalised within a period of one month from the date of such creation in make shift arrangements till necessary infrastructure was provided to the new units,’’ the CSC has recommended in its report.
It said: “the Deputy Commissioners should ensure that the demarcation of new administrative units was done in such a manner that the people have easy access to them. The DCs and the Director Rural Development would finalize the model estimates and designs for the construction of office buildings for new units within a period of four months’’.
The CSC has directed that the DCs should identify land for construction of newly proposed units and also as a short term measure identify places where the new units can be made operational.
“The Finance and Planning Departments should arrange funds for making these units functional. After creation of 10521 posts required for the new units including 358 gazetted cadre and 10163 in non gazetted cadre, the recruitment agencies should be directed by the Government to make recruitment for these posts on fast track basis,’’ the CSC has recommended.
These recommendations for were part of the roadmap given by the CSC for implementation of its report and creation of new units.
The CSC has taken a dig at Mushtaq Ahmad Ganaie Committee report for recommending administrative units without any criteria.
“The Ganaie Committee had recommended a tehsil for just two patwar halqas in Kishtwar district, three patwar halqas in Reasi district and four patwar halqas in Doda district. However, it had proposed a tehsil in Hiranagar for 74 patwar halqas.
“Similarly in Kashmir, a tehsil had been proposed in Shopian district on 4 patwar halqas and in Budgam on 4 patwar halqas. However, it has recommended another tehsil in Budgam on 23 patwar halqas and in Handwara district on 31 patwar halqas,’’ the CSC lamented in its report.
It pointed out that the Ganaie Committee had recommended niabats for Machail and Ramsoo in Jammu province and Badoab and Gulshanpora in Kashmir on just one patwar halqa.
“This clearly indicated that the Ganaie Committee had made recommendation by adopting different criteria for different areas,’’ the CSC asserted.
As reported exclusively by the Excelsior, the CSC had recommended creation of 659 new administrative units in Jammu and Kashmir taking into account all units proposed by the Ganaie Commission excepting patwar halqas. Out of 659 new units proposed to be created in the State, the CSC has recommended 337 units for Jammu region, 274 for Kashmir region and 48 for Ladakh region.
The Ganaie Commission had recommended just 101 new administrative units for Kashmir region while the CSC has added 173 to it and taken the total to 274. Similarly for Jammu region, Ganaie had proposed only 108 units but the CSC added 229 to it and took the total to 337. For Ladakh region, Ganaie had recommended just 13 units but the CSC added 35 to it and took the figure to 48.
Excelsior had also reported the final tally for Jammu now at 26 sub divisions, 72 tehsils, 84 CD blocks and 165 niabats. The final tally for Kashmir is 15 sub divisions, 54 tehsils, 80 CD blocks and 115 niabats. The final tally for Ladakh is five sub divisions, nine tehsils, 13 CD blocks and 21 niabats.
Sources noted that Ganaie Commission had recommended just 33 niabats for Kashmir but the CSC has taken the number to 115.