CS reviews preparations on EGSA in Baramulla, Kupwara

Excelsior Correspondent

SRINAGAR, May 31: Chief Secretary, B B Vyas  today reviewed the preparations in regard to the implementation of the ‘Extended Gram Swaraj Abhiyan’- a special multi-departmental and multi-sectoral initiative for achieving saturation under seven pro-poor programmes of Government of India.
Principal Secretary Health & Medical Education, Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Commissioner/Secretary PDD, Secretary Rural Development & Panchayati Raj, Mission Director NHM and other senior officers attended the meeting. Deputy Commissioners of Baramulla and Kupwara districts participated in the meeting through video conferencing.
It was informed that the Union Government has decided to extend the ‘Gram Swaraj Abhiyan’ to about 45000 villages with more than 1000 population in 115 ‘Aspirational Districts’ in the country including Baramulla and Kupwara districts of Jammu and Kashmir, to achieve 100% saturation coverage under the 7 flagship programmes by 15th of August, 2018 viz; PM Ujjwala Yojana, PM Sahaj Bijli Har Ghar Yojana, Ujala Scheme, PM Jan-Dhan Yojana, PM Jeevan-Jyoti Bima Yojana and PM Suraksha Bima Yojana
Chief Secretary discussed the plan of action in regard to achieving 100% saturation targets by August 15, 2018, with the concerned Administrative Secretaries and DCs of Baramulla and Kupwara districts.
It was informed the 279 villages in district Baramulla and 222 villages in district Kupwara with population more than 1000 stand already identified for special intervention under the programme.