Congress discusses preparations for Panchayat elections

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 14: A meeting of Pradesh Congress Committee Executive was held here today at PCC Headquarters here under the chairmanship of PCC chief G A Mir.
The meeting was attended by senior leaders, including several Legislators (MLAs/MLCs) of the party to discuss the organizational preparations for forthcoming Panchayat elections in the State.
Click here to watch video
Briefing the meeting, PCC chief G A Mir asked the party leaders to activate their cadres in their areas to gear up for the elections to ensure the greater participation of the people. He alleged that the Government has weakened the Panchayati Raj System by the retrograde amendment in the Act whereby the direct elections to Sarpanchs has been replaced by in-direct elections through Panchs. “The people will be deprived to vote and elect directly the persons of their choice, as Sarpanchs. The PDP-BJP coalition stands exposed on their commitments to ensure empowerment of Panchayats at par with 73rd amendment which was incorporated by the previous Government,” he said and added that the Congress party has always struggled for empowerment of grass root institutions to strengthen democracy in the State.
The meeting also decided to hold series of conventions in different parts of Jammu province in the coming days, including a mega convention at Jammu on 24th of this month to mobilize the cadres to expose the total failure of the present Government on all fronts and the opportunistic stand of the two coalition partners in the State.
Prominent leaders, who attended the meeting, included senior Vice-President Sham Lal Sharma, CLP Leader N Rigzin Jora, Tara Chand, Taj Mohi-Ud-Din, Mula Ram, Raman Bhalla, G M Saroori, Ch. Akram, Mohd. Amin Bhat, Asgar Karbali, Deldan Nimgial,  Naresh Gupta, Muzaffar Parrey, Th  Balbir Singh,  Kanta Bhan, Ravinder Sharma, Rajnish Sharma, Dr  Manohar Lal Sharma, Yogesh Sawhney,  Shabir Ahmed Khan, Manjit Singh,  Vikram Malhotra, Th  Manmohan Singh, Namarata Sharma, Shah Nawaz Choudhary,  Faqir Nath,  Th  Hari Singh,   Suman Bhagat, Swarn Lata,  S  Arvinder Singh Micky, Indu Pawar, Th  Shiv Dev Singh, G L  Chalotra, Gurbachan Kumari Rana, Ashok Sharma, Krishan Chandar Bhagat , Ashok Dogra,  Prof  Gharu Ram, Kuldeep Raj Verma, Maheshwar Singh, Khushal Bali, Iqbal Malik, Subash Bhagat, M K  Bhardwaj,  Anil Chopra, Subash Gupta (Ex-MLC), Sain Ab  Rasheed , Rajinder Singh Kaka, Arun Singh Raju, Hari Singh Chib,  Shiv Kumar Sharma, Neeraj Kundan, Hira Lal Pandita, Gajan Singh, Parveen Sarawar Khan, Shashi Sharma, Pankaj Dogra, Neeraj Gupta, Thomas Khoker, Pawan Raina, Nirdosh Sharma, Manjeet Singh Jatt, Imtiaz Khanday, Kulbir Singh Pathania, Nadeem Shrief Niaz,  Sanjeev Sharma, Narinder Gupta, Suresh Bargotra and others.