Clerical cadre employees hold protest demonstration, dharna

Clerical cadre employees staging protest dharna at Press Club in Jammu on Thursday. -Excelsior/ Rakesh
Clerical cadre employees staging protest dharna at Press Club in Jammu on Thursday. -Excelsior/ Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Nov 17: Clerical cadre employees of various  Government departments  and Public Sector Undertakings held strong protest demonstration  and dharna near Press Club here and also at various district headquarters  on the second day of their pen down strike.
On the call given by Jammu Kashmir Ladakh All Departments Clerical Staff Association,  the employees under the leadership of   Babu Hussain Malik, Bharat Bhushan,  Ashok Singh,  KA Diwani,  Yash Paul Sharma, Javed Akhoon, Meenakshi Sharma, Seva Ram Rathore, Farida Bano  and others assembled near Press Club  and then started protest demonstration. They were carrying placards and also shouting slogans against State Government and in support of their demands. It was followed by day long dharna at the venue. Several senior trade union leaders also addressed the gathering.
With the strike of these employees, the normal work in many Government and Corporation offices  was affected on the second  day of the strike.  Most of the employees of the clerical cadre stayed away from their offices and joined dharna at Press Club.
Babu Hussain Malik, Bharat Bhushan and others while addressing the gathering  strongly criticized the State Government  for befooling the employees  and  not  honouring  its commitment.  He said the Government   had also framed a Committee   for the purpose and gave its recommendations but the Government ignored.     They said the Association would intensify its agitation in near future.   They  appealed to the employees to support the common cause and make the programme a grand success.
The main demands of these agitating employees are- removal of anomalies  in the pay grades of clerical cadre employees, reorganization of  the cadre,  conduct of  DPC twice a year, enhancement  of  Medical allowance of the employees and pensioners  and implementation of 7th Pay Commission report.
The trade union leaders appealed to the Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti  and Dy Chief Minister Dr Nirmal Singh to personally intervene into the matter and address the long pending issues of the clerical cadre employees. They also declared to observe three day pen down strike on December 8, 9 and 10 and also conduct Gherao of the Civil Secretariat here. Similar protest dharnas were held at various district headquarters including Doda, Rajouri, Kathua and Udhampur.
The other prominent trade unionists  present included  Vishav Bandhu, Jaswant Singh,  Arun Sharma, Lekh Raj, Vikas Chander, Munish Sharma, Ansuya Gupta, Vikas Sharma, Kapil Gupta, Om Parkash, B B Kotwal, Sandeep Singh, Naresh Sharma and Udhay Singh Pathania.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here