Civil society demands separate Assembly segment for Majalta

Excelsior Correspondent
UDHAMPUR, Feb 2: Civil society of Majalta and adjoining areas has announced to launch a movement for separate Assembly segment and expose the negative forces working against the proposal, which has been agreed upon by the Delimitation Commission.
This was stated by prominent members of the civil society, led by Sewa Singh Mankotia- Retd SSP, while addressing a press conference at Mansar today.
The speakers referred to purported proceedings in meeting of Delimitation Commission on 20-12-2021, carried out in AIR radio broadcast of 21-12-2021 whereby it was spelled out that it the Commission has proposed creating of six Assembly segments in Jammu region, including one more in the district of Udhampur at Majalta.
“Majalta is the exact case where our proposal to combine adjoining and loosely-knit areas of erstwhile Chenani, Udhampur & Ramnagar segments along the Dhar road axis with geographically compactness to constitute a separate Assembly segment,” said Sewa Singh Mankotia.
He explained that Majalta is second largest Tehsil of Udhampur with 51,000 population, which is part of Ramnagar Assembly segment which, in turn, is biggest Assembly segment of J&K. “The area of Majalta is geographically separated from Ramnagar with a mountain and dense Dhar has nearer access to Udhampur via Dhar road. That is why an independent tehsil and a Munsiff Court have also come up at Majalta,” he added.
However, Mr Mankotia said, in the aftermath of radio announcement, a sort of negative campaign was unleashed by political vested interests, within as well as outside BJP. “And we seek to answer appropriately to such voices and negativities in times to come,” he said and warned that any attempt to scuttle the proposal of separate Assembly constituency for Majalta shall entail serious repercussions.
“We shall go to any extent while exploring democratic means to secure political justice for the people of Majalta along with adjoining areas of Chenani, Udhampur and Ramnagar segments,” said the civil society members, who included Dr K C Dubey, Retd Director Doordarshan, Jammu; Sagar Verma, Ex-President Sri Chountara Mata Parbandhak Committee; Durga Dass Sharma (Headmaster- Retd.), Baldev Singh Mankotia, Lochan Singh, Surinder Singh, Dr Bishan Dass Gupta ( Dy Director ISM- Retd), Capt Gopal Singh, Ex-President Sri Narsingh Mandir Welfare Committee and Om Parkash, Block President Congress.