Chamber of Traders Federation celebrates abolition of Toll Tax

Chamber of Traders Federation celebrating abolition of Toll Tax on goods. —Excelsior/Rakesh
Chamber of Traders Federation celebrating abolition of Toll Tax on goods. —Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Jan 1: To celebrate the UT Government’s order on abolishing Toll Tax on goods, Chamber of Traders Federation Jammu held a public function amidst bursting of fire crackers and dancing to the tunes of Dhol.
Neeraj Anand, President CTF, explained the benefits of abolition of Toll Tax for masses and traders alike. “This is an apt New Year gift to the people of Jammu and Kashmir by the UT Administration,” said Neeraj.

Click here to watch video
CTF on behalf of all genuine traders, common people and consumers, expressed gratitude to Prime Minister Narender Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah; Nirmala Sitharaman, Union Finance Minister; Rajnath Singh, Defence Minister; Piyush Goyal, Industries Minister; Dr Jitender Singh, MoS who took a lead in understanding this all important issue and finally abolished Toll Tax.
Kavinder Gupta , Ex Deputy Chief Minister; Chander Mohan Gupta , Mayor, Jammu ; Vinay Gupta, President BJP, Jammu City ; V K Sethi and H S Pammi from BJP Liaison Committee were also present on the occasion.
“Traders as well as consumers would be benefited a lot. The flight of capital to neighboring States would be arrested thus rejuvenating trade of genuine registered dealers who were being hit by this double taxation of sorts,” said Neeraj adding that the Union Territory of J&K would also gain in terms of Tax collection, he added.
Neeraj also expressed gratitude towards Lt Governor, G C Murmu for taking such a positive decision that completes the unification of Jammu and Kashmir with trade of rest of India. He also appreciated the role played by Parveen Khandelwal, National Secretary General, CAIT, B C Bhartia, President, and CAIT.
Neeraj also appealed to concerned authorities to put in place a mechanism to safeguard all those industries whose genuine interests could be hurt by this decision. CTF never wants our local industry to suffer; we firmly believe that getting new Industries would have no meaning if the existing ones have to shut shutters, he stressed.
S Attar Singh, President Distributors Association; Dinesh Gupta, President Electrical Association; Raman Gupta, President Cold Storage Association; Parveen Gupta , President Jammu Fruit Association; Yash Pal Abrol, President Halwai Association; Bodh Raj Dogra, President Dhabha Association; Sanjay Jandyal, President Nanak Nagar Retailers and others were also present on the occasion.